Skip to content

Baby Steps

June 10, 2008

Today I took even one more step towards healthy and green living.  I purchased 2 reusable water containers, one for work and one for home.  So no more toxins in my system (except for the Splenda, sugar and enough preservatives to keep me looking young for 150 years) and no more water bottles in the earth for 700 years.  It’s true, I got my new Reader’s Digest (I heart you RD) and it said that one water bottle lasts 700 years in a landfill.  Um just think about how many you use in a week, that’s scary!

Speaking of toxins, I was at Tom Thumb on Monday for my regularly scheduled grocery excursion.  I was standing in the checkout line while the woman in front of me was paying for her items.  She was paying with cash and obviously on a budget, which is fine, I respect a girl on a budget.  So she had the checker take back some bananas, apples and milk.  In the mean time the potato chips, generic brand sodas and fruit rollups are placed into a bag, on their way home with her.  Um, ok, so you need to save some money – I get it but your two children also look like they might appreciate something with actual NUTRITION in it.  And while fruit rollups clearly have their place in anyone’s diet they don’t/shouldn’t replace actual real fruit.  Call me crazy.

And that’s another thing, it’s a darn shame that junk food and fatty cheeses, breads and whole milk are cheaper than healthy food.  I hate that about our economy.  White bread has more preservatives than it does nutrients and yet it’s WIC approved.  Why don’t people eat organic fruit and whole grains?  Because they are too darned expensive, that’s why!  So you can only be truly healthy if you are rich – that sounds about par for the course (and yet I promise this doesn’t mean I am turning in my Republican card).  I still believe that fancy cars, nice clothes, Starbucks and life’s perks aren’t entitled to everyone.  But how about nutritious foods and decent medical care?I’m just sayin! 

 

And I promise that this political kick won’t last long, one can only talk about the atrocities of the world for so long before celebrity gossip and cute shoes distract. 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    June 10, 2008 11:38 pm

    Kat for President!

  2. June 11, 2008 11:43 am

    Oooh- what kind of water bottle did you get?? I just bought a new one the other day- I tossed the yellow nalgene because of all the scary “plastic leaches chemical” stories (plus it was getting gross anyway).

Leave a Reply

