Skip to content

To Clean or Not To Clean – Is NOT the Right Question

June 11, 2008

Uhhhh, it’s time to clean again.  Despite popular belief I do not LOVE to clean house.  However, when I am going to have company I do take extra care in the details – like baseboards, showers (don’t pretend you don’t pull back the curtain), all eye level surfaces (and we have tall friends and family so that’s a lot) and the floors.  Oh how the floors haunt me in my sleep.  Between the dog and the uh, well, DOG they are constantly a wreck (in my eyes anyway – Chad thinks I have unusually high standards).  If it’s not dog hair it’s dirt brought in from the dog.  And if it’s not dirt then the dog has used his knife like toenails to put a pretty rip in the “wood” floor.  I can’t forget the nice “accident” outline that remains after numerous scrubs, thanks Chewy.  All of these things are magnified in my head, I am quite aware of that thank you very much.  I almost forgot, we decided to purchase beige couches when we moved in, and our dog is black.  Hmmm, it doesn’t take a genius to figure that one out.  It’s not that we didn’t think about it, we did, but to heck with practicality we wanted beige!

 

Anyhow, I shall begin my deep clean tonight for the Father’s Day dinner we are hosting Saturday.  Plus my sister is spending the weekend with us so I have to make sure her room and bathroom are up to par – not that she cares, as long as she can go to bed at 8:00 and sleep ‘til noon she is happy!  Meanwhile, tonight as Chad sees me scrubbing away he will reluctantly (and with a deep lip pursing sigh) ask me what exactly HE is responsible for and when exactly he needs to be finished.  I will tell him, as I always do, the floors and the couches (as we must vacuum the dog hair off).  He will then amend that with, “That doesn’t include mopping does it?”  Since we mopped at least 12 weeks ago he would think it excessive and ridiculous to mop yet again.  I guess from 6 feet and 3 inches in the air, and with some possible eyesight issues brought on by being 30 and staring at a computer screen all day, he is the best judge of whether or not we should move the dirt around or not.  Right.  In response I will reply, “I’ll do it” with the same deep sigh and pursed lips.

 

The problem with mopping, which is my least favorite chore, is that I never feel like I have actually done any good.  In fact, I usually think it looks worse.  If only I could just hose everything down – dog included.

P.S. Just so you know we are definitely very NEAT all the time, no clutter, no countertop stacks of paper, etc. but eventually the dust bunnies threaten to come alive and eat the dog so we must concede and get out the Pledge.

 

 

Major offender of all things messy (in his fisherman costume from Halloween – not Chad, the dog)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    June 12, 2008 12:58 pm

    Thank you for the bigger font, I seriously thought I was starting to go blind reading some of your post and I am not even 30 yet.

  2. klemons permalink*
    June 12, 2008 1:43 pm

    I know right!

  3. June 12, 2008 5:08 pm

    I think Chad needs a fisherman outfit too…

    How about you come clean my house, and I’ll come cook for you? Fair trade?

    Oh wait, you’ve seen my house. You’re totally not going to go for that one.

  4. Melissa permalink
    June 14, 2008 4:17 am

    OMG! I will totally be looking and getting out the magnifying glass tomorrow! Perfection is what I expect! LOL!

  5. klemons permalink*
    June 14, 2008 3:41 pm

    HAHA MEl, Just don’t look anywhere the dog has been and you won’t be disappointed, oh wait, crap, never mind.

Leave a Reply

