Skip to content

These Are a Few of My Favorite Things

June 12, 2008

So I thought to myself today, “You know, I should really share some of my favorites with my readers, both of them.”  I mean, I know everyone is just dying to know my favorite author, eye makeup, shampoo, and the list goes on.  Here goes, just a short list of the products and people I love, and why:

 

Favorite Self Tanner: Jergen’s Natural Glow, to be used in conjunction with outdoor tanning and possibly indoor (although I cannot recommend this).  Be careful of your ankles and fingers, rub it in very well otherwise in a few weeks people will be asking if you are the lead Umpa in the new Willy Wonka movie.  It’s a slow tan that builds over the days, and love the way it accentuates my natural color.

 

Favorite Jeans: Without a doubt Seven for All Mankind, although not all mankind can afford them they are a good investment for me.  Joe’s are my second choice and the reason – certain designer jeans fit me better than any other jeans on earth.  I need a 34” length and I don’t want the legs to be the size of a bendy straw.  Both brands carry an array of styles and designs and since I only buy 1-2 a year they are worth it!  HINT: If you hit up Nordstrom Rack every week you are bound to get lucky, they slash the prices in ½, but be ready to spend at least $79 even with the discount.

 

Favorite Foundation:  No, not a concrete slab I am talking makeup ladies.  I hate feeling heavy and “made up” so I use ID Bare Minerals foundation and powder.  They provide the perfect amount of coverage without making me feel like a beauty pageant contestant, “And I, um, definitely, um, would really, um, Africa, um, Oh crap.”  Also, you can wear just the powder to the pool without looking like “that girl” – you know, the one who puts on mascara and curls her hair and then screams when she gets splashed, again, AT THE POOL.

 

Favorite PJs:  PINK by Victoria’s Secret.  They are fun, cotton, loose, cute, and they mix and match well with one another.  And while they aren’t sexy lingerie they definitely aren’t fuddy duddy, you won’t catch your grandma in pants that say PINK right across her rear….unless Goldie Hawn is your grandmother.  Oh and since PINK is apparently sponsoring this season’s The Real World I am constantly pausing and screaming for Chad to come and look at the girls who are wearing exactly what I am!

(although I know it’s hard to see this is actually me in my PINK PJs, lounging all seductive like, since that’s what I do when I am at home and not modeling) 

 

Favorite Watch: For college graduation my Aunt and Uncle gave me the best watch I have ever owned.  It’s a Michele and I have worn it religiously for over 5 years.  It’s perfectly versatile, oversized but not gigantic and best of all it works really well.  My Uncle has a thing for watches so we searched high and low until we found one that I was in love with.  It looks just like this one, minus the diamond (maybe someday):

 

Favorite Author:  Other than Zig Ziglar, Jen Lancaster is my all time favorite writer right now (Anita Shreve is a close second but in a different way).  I have read all 3 of Jen’s books, beginning with Bitter Is the New Black, and I was lucky enough to meet her at Barnes and Noble last month for a book signing (Such a Pretty Fat is highlarious).  If you are a woman you need to read her book, and even if you aren’t a woman but would like to laugh your ass off – read it.  Purchase it at Barnes and Noble today or Amazon!

 

 

 More to come later on my favorites, this might be enough for now!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2008 4:18 am

    Dude, that self-tanner makes me stiiiiink. At least, I think it’s the tanner…

    I need to give you your Jen Lancaster book back! Thanks for the reminder 🙂

  2. klemons permalink*
    June 13, 2008 12:33 pm

    The new kind doesn’t stink like the old kind! I know, the old was gross but the new firming version smells like regular lotion. But again, it could have just been your natural funk.

  3. Gigi permalink
    June 13, 2008 5:40 pm

    WHAT no Haribo?????? I am so ashamed! 😦

  4. klemons permalink*
    June 13, 2008 5:54 pm

    GUUURRRLll, there is still more to come, gosh, don’t ruin the surprise for everyone!

  5. June 14, 2008 4:29 am

    Hey, you have more readers than I do! I have one, including me!

Leave a Reply

