Skip to content

Bowling

July 23, 2008

Sunday Chad and I went bowling.  I felt like getting out and about and I actually enjoy bowling even though I am not very good.  Bowling falls into the category of unintentional exercise, my favorite kind.  The kind where you may not be huffing and puffing afterwards but the next day you wake up all sore in places you didn’t know could be sore (leave the crude jokes to me please).

Chad and I decided to have a little competitive encounter and rather than see who was the best at bowling we thought it best to keep it to who was the least worst….and YES I am sure that is correct grammar.  In one hour we played 3 games.  I won the first 2, but Chad won the last and racked up the highest score yet (in our little game, not in bowling worldwide).  I shall not mention our scores, only that I won twice and Chad won once.  And really, in the grand scheme of things it’s not about how much you won by, it’s just the fact that you won.  For all of you with kids write that life lesson down, it could come in handy one day.

And while I talk about our bowling experience I would be remiss in not painting a picture for you of the bowling alley itself, and its patrons.  Bowling alleys have been a long-standing American tradition.  Nothing says USA like rented shoes, fried food, beer and the good old middle class throwing their balls around for fun.  And although they have come a long way since 1955 they still retain much of their original charm.  Let’s start with the dim lighting, we arrived at 1:30 PM but once inside one would never know it, it felt more like 6:30 PM.  Then there is the black carpet spackled with lime green squiggly lines, so as to hide the grease smears and general foot traffic gook.  Luckily smoking has long since been banned but I could practically envision the clouds of smoke rising up from each lane.  Perhaps a gentleman with the name BUCK stitched on to this shirt leaving the cigarette in his mouth as he went for his next strike.  No sense in putting a good smoke down just to bowl a frame that would be amateur.

I am not a germaphobe, I’m really not, but there is something pretty unsanitary about sharing balls with strangers (Ok, now is not the time for an inappropriate joke).  Even if you wash your hands and scrub your ball down there is still the return device that just mixes up all the germs anyway.  So, being keenly aware of this eating a snack food while bowling seems out of the question.  However, the people next to us, a lovely older couple, must have been mentally and physically immune because they ordered popcorn.   I tried not to stare but I couldn’t help but cringe every time I saw them dig into the giant tub and then bowl a frame.  They mine as well have licked the lane itself and kissed the 25 other patrons before them.

Chad opted for a more formal meal – pizza.  I warned him that the French fries might be a safer bet but pizza it was (plus I would have snagged a few)!  It came, he tasted , and it quickly went….in the trash.  So I guess Main Event isn’t known worldwide for their gourmet pizza.  What do you expect!

The rest of the clientele seemed to be in the 15-19 age range.  I suppose a bowling alley isn’t such a bad place for teenagers to hang out, at least there is adult supervision.  But after an hour us two adults decided to leave. We had fun, it was something different and most importantly, I won.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2008 2:18 pm

    I don’t think I ever really thought about the nastiness of the bowling balls until you posted this….. I am completely ooged out now.

  2. Tom permalink
    July 26, 2008 11:32 am

    Did you know that almost 40% of people don’t wash their hands before they leave the bathroom? So, how do you open the door when you are leaving?

  3. Cindy permalink
    July 26, 2008 4:52 pm

    I will never bowl again! Ever!

Leave a Reply

