Skip to content

This Movie Gets My John Hancock of Approval!

July 26, 2008

As has become custom I feel it my duty to give you a full report on any movies that Chad and I see.  This Friday it was a long overdue trip to Cinemark for Hancock.  It was one that we had been meaning to go to but we got distracted by Batman and busy weekends.  There were a lot of little kids, probably 8-12 year olds, which I didn’t really give much thought to at first.  I couldn’t remember if it was PG-13 or R but it seemed like a pretty harmless movie.  It started out by showing all the trailer scenes, I hoped there would be more to it than that….and there was!  WARNING: did you know that they can now drop the F-bomb in PG-13 movie?  UH, well, they can and they did.  And all those 8-12 year olds were there to hear it.  I guess it was an attempt to make Will Smith’s character more gritty and rough but it was (as my grandmother would say) TOTALLY unnecessary.  And yes, I realize that makes me sound like an old lame woman but I don’t care.  But other than that I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the movie.  There was, as you may have heard, a surprise twist.  Which I think was absolutely key to it not being a cookie cutter action hero makeover story.  I walked away really pleased.  Overall I would rate it a (drum roll please)…………..9.0.  Yeah, it won’t win an Oscar or anything but apparently only long, odd and boring movies win Oscars anyway.

 

Oh and I was very pleased to see Charlize in a different roll.  Not one where she is ugly, abused or sad the whole time. I mean kudos to her for wanting to establish herself as a serious actress and not just another 6 ft tall, beautiful, thin South African.  But let’s face it, she’s a tall, thin, gorgeous woman and sometimes that’s how America wants to see her! 

Can I also say that I LOVE Jason Bateman.  I mean, hello, why isn’t he in more stuff?  He is so funny but not in a Will Ferrall way.  He doesn’t have to run around butt ass naked, get hit in the head with a frying pan, or skate around in a leotard to get a laugh.  He just has something about him that’s so HIGHlarious.

Of Course my Will didn’t let me down either.  He is so cute in a good guy way.

 

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    July 27, 2008 12:59 am

    Gurl, I can’t believe you didn’t go straight home Friday and jump into bed after your late night on Thursday! See, you really are still young! Told ya!

  2. July 27, 2008 1:34 am

    What? The Fresh Prince dropped an F-bomb?? Uncle Phil would not approve.

    Dude, go see Stepbrothers. I almost wet my pants… so freaking funny.

Leave a Reply

