Skip to content

BB&B, The Gap, and White House Black Market……Oh My

July 27, 2008

Saturday was sort of a bum around day.  We didn’t really have any plans, except for dinner later that night.  So we went and tanned and then headed home, except neither one of us really wanted to go home yet so Chad turns to me and asks, “Do you want to go walk about Bed Bath and Beyond?”  I’m sorry what was that.  Did he just ask me if I wanted to go walk around a store without a specific purpose, and a home goods store no less?  This can’t be.  I checked the sky to see if there pigs, then I looked below to see if hell was cooling down.  Nope.  Neither one, I can only assume that he was THAT bored or that I have totally turned him in to me, I like to think the first because the second may get my hopes up too high.

 

So we did and it turns out we did need something – a new shredder.  The old one had been dead for a few months but we have kept it because it cleverly disguises the mess of cords behind the computer desk.

 

That night we went to the Lemons’ household and enjoyed fried fish, red potatoes, salad and angel food cake with strawberries.  Then we watched the Great Debaters with Denzel Washington.  It was really good, very heartwarming and real – you know, since it was a true story and all.  It’s good to be reminded of the historical atrocities of this country, I think in many ways we are too quick to forget and in other cases we are too eager to linger in the past.  There has to be a good balance, I think, of the two.

 

Sunday Beth and I desperately wanted to lay out and bask in the sun, but alas there was no pool in sight for us…one of the few disadvantages of home ownership is the lack of a public pool to lounge beside.  Instead I decided to tool around at the Gap and even ventured into White House Black Market to look for a reunion dress. 

 

On my way home I decided to cash in on my FREE Vivano coupon from Starbucks.  I chose a location without a drive thru because I had a lot of questions about this Vivano and I didn’t feel the loud speaker would properly convey my concerns.  First question, “So, exactly how much sugar is in one of these things?”  And the second question, “And more importantly how many calories?”  I stood there cynically as the poor young scruffy gentlemen replied, “Well, I don’t know about sugar but the Mango Banana has 240 calories, so that’s not that bad.”  Um, excuse me, not that bad?  What kind of diet was he on, obviously he wasn’t!  240 calories is like 100 calories away from a full blown Lean Cuisine meal.  240 calories was not my average afternoon snack, no sir.  But luckily today I had only had a few turkey dogs and planned on a delicious Lean Cuisine later so I thought that I could stand the 240 calories, but just this once.

 

I was not disappointed; it was a yummy frozen bit of heaven in a desolate land of chips and salty snacks.  I drank it all before I even got home, and that says a lot since it only takes me about 6 minutes to get home from the Tollway and Park.  The Starbucks gent also pointed out that the chocolate version was a mere 270 but frankly I am not a chocolate fan.  I mean, I like it once in a while but I don’t crave it like some women.  I would much rather eat popcorn, chips & salsa or Cheetos all day long than gorge on a box of chocolates.

 

P.S. I think I know which dress I am getting too, but I have yet to purchase it so check back soon for a picture!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    July 27, 2008 10:38 pm

    So, where did you find this dress? Eh?

  2. Beth K. permalink
    July 28, 2008 2:29 pm

    I’m guessing you went shopping at Park and Preston…..WHBM…and The Gap. I frequent there often! (except this weekend…moving…horrible)I have to restrain my visits so the people working there don’t start recognizing me. 🙂 I want to see your dress!

Leave a Reply

