Skip to content

Another Movie Review

August 1, 2008

 

Last night I sent Chad to Blockbuster for some movies for the weekend.  My sister is staying with us and I specifically wanted him to rent Annie.  It’s only her favorite movie ON THE PLANET.  She sings it in the shower, in the car and at random moments throughout the day.  Growing up I think it was on a continuous reel, and those were the days before DVD players.  Remember VHS tapes?  Yeah well they had to be rewound so we bought one of those special rewinding machines.   My poor Mom was constantly running into the family room to rewind, change out or simply listen to my sister complain about the bad acting.  I know you are all dying to know, so here is a short list of Elizabeth Witmeyer’s favorite all time movies:

1.      Annie

2.     Beethoven

3.     Various Kid Songs (short musicals, like HighSchool Musical without the good production and talent)

4.     Grandpa’s Magic Toys (my friend Matt used to have LOTS of fun with this title, he even had a creepy grandpa voice to go along with it)

5.     Home Alone 1 and 2

I think you will find that this list is similar to the top all time best movie list of any respected reviewer (under 10 years of age).  But I can’t really blame her Annie was my favorite growing up too.  I had it on (gulp) record.  Yes, an actual record, like the large round things that play music and need a record player to work.  My cousin and I were obsessed with it.  I was convinced I would be a famous Broadway musical star.  This was before I realized that singing out loud in front of people was not my gift from God.

Where was I, oh yes the Blockbuster run.  So apparently someone STOLE Annie.  Ok, who steals a children’s musical from Blockbuster?  I told Chad before he left that Beethoven part 2 was his second pick.  This too was nowhere to be found.   Poor Chad innocently chose Beethoven 3.  Beethoven 3 is much like many part 3s of popular movies – different actors and horrible writing.  Yeah, it totally lived up to the part 3 stereotype too.  Even Elizabeth was disengaged and asking about bedtime.  It was actually hard to watch it was so bad. 

Judge Reinhold played the part of the dad.  Judge Reinhold played the cool brother in Fast Times at Ridgemont High, so this was truly a downgrade for Judge a serious misstep in his otherwise flawless movie career.  Julia Sweeney played the mom.  I have a hard time seeing her as anything but PAT and I certainly didn’t buy that she and Judge would ever meet at a bar (or church), discover attraction and end up married with 2 kids.  The kids were forgettable and I don’t even think the dog was the same dog.  Anyway, my official rating is a ………….0.9.  Yeah, it was that bad but I had to give points for actually making it to the video shelves.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:43 pm

    I knew I love that girl for a reason, Annie is also on the top of my list. Was there no Sister Act or is this not a fav anymore?

  2. Beth K. permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:56 pm

    Ummmm….I like Home Alone 2. 🙂 BUT I justify it with my obsession with New York City and deep desire to go there someday.

  3. Beth K. permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:56 pm

    That…and it’s a Christmas movies. Jon LOVES the Christmas movies.

  4. Cindy permalink
    August 2, 2008 12:05 pm

    Elizabeth and Annie. Ah, yes. Lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots and lots of memories of that!

  5. August 3, 2008 5:21 am

    OMG! I had (still have) Annie on record too! Me and my sister loved to act out the scenes and constantly fought over who would get to be Annie…sad. 🙂

Leave a Reply

