Skip to content

The Other Boleyn…..and YES I Know I Watch A Lot of Movies

August 4, 2008

Chad in his infinite wisdom somehow knew that I would want to see this movie so he rented it for me.  I hate to admit it but my historical knowledge is, um, well, lacking; much like my math and geography skills (but my popular culture knowledge is way above average so that has to count for something).  I knew that Ann Boleyn was beheaded but I had no idea it was all so scandalous….and that King Henry was such a giant douche bag.  I mean, six wives, really, is that even necessary?

So it wasn’t really until mid-movie that I realized this wasn’t just a bunch of Hollywood fluff or partial truths strung together around the real truth.  NO.  All of this actually happened, or at least most of it.  Here are a few things I didn’t know:

1.      Ann had a sister

2.     And a brother

3.     After losing a child Ann actually considered sleeping with her brother and getting pregnant by him simply to produce a male heir for Henry (I cannot say YUCK enough)

4.     Ann’s dad was a social climbing, daughter-pawning jerk who got exactly what he deserved!

5.     I need to read more history books – I had no idea history could be that scandalous.  It was like US Weekly and the National Enquirer all in one!

You know how it seems like every generation thinks people are getting worse and worse and that society is declining and completely morally bankrupt?  Well, it turns out that people have ALWAYS been morally bankrupt, power hungry, money obsessed and not to mention insane.   I think each generation and/or century just has a different way of expressing their moral bankruptcy and endures different consequences.  Just think of the negative consequences of the 80s, I mean we are still recovering from oversized shoulder pads.  But the 1500s also saw their share of consequences.  I cannot imagine my dad encouraging me to sleep with the president just to put the family in better social standing….and then having my sister do the same when I became pregnant with his child and had to be on bed rest.  Yeah, not so much…..my dad couldn’t even get me to vacuum. 

 

P.S. I really like Scarlett J. I think she is a good actress and I apprecaite her natural look!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 5, 2008 1:30 pm

    You should read the book!!! It was so much better than the movie (although the movie was great, too).

  2. Erica permalink
    August 6, 2008 5:23 pm

    I know all the histry stuff does that surprise you? I read the book and wondered if the movie was good. Guess I need to rent it.

Leave a Reply

