Skip to content

Did Someone Say Gratitude?

August 13, 2008

A wise man once said that gratitude is the healthiest of all human emotions.  As of late I have been feeling quite grateful.  I have always been surrounded by amazing friends and family but most recently I have become very aware, and more grateful, for the tangible blessings in my life (ok, the somewhat materialistic things).  Here is the short list of things I am grateful for:

1.    Washer & Dryer – I remember very vividly my first apartment in a sketchy area on the 3rd floor with no washer and dryer; therefore forcing me to hall all of my clothing to a family members house once a week (watching for rogue panties all the way to the car) and to be extra anxious about my guests using my hand towels (sorry Erica it was a necessity at the time).  P.S. I actually had to go and buy a package of underwear once because I ran out of clean ones but had no time to drive to someone’s house and do laundry.  Yeah, that’s bad, and something to be very grateful for never having to do again.

2.   Grocery Store Freedom – There was a time when I had to mentally add up each item in the cart before reaching the check out.  And most of you know that math isn’t my strong suit.  Now I freely roam the aisles impulse buying all the way!  Hooray for being able to purchase unnecessary items that aren’t on sale! 

3.   Entertaining – When you live in a one bedroom apartment and own one pot, two spoons and one cheap knife not suitable for chopping it’s a little difficult to entertain.   Plus the extra cashola needed to feed people wasn’t always something I had.  Now I am very grateful for the ability to have friends and family over for dinner…..oh and before I had NO dining table and now I have two, that’s the lap of luxury if you ask me.

4.   Dating – No, I am not grateful for dating I am grateful that I don’t have to date anymore.  All that keeping up of appearances, the fear of never meeting the right person (or the right person without 4 kids and a police record), shady men, nights hanging out alone or worse, wishing I was alone rather than with whoever I was with….yeah, I don’t miss dating.  At all.  But I am glad I dated Chad, otherwise we wouldn’t have gotten married, wahoooo for us!  P.S. If you are currently single do not let this discourage you, everyone has to date it’s a means to an end and a necessary evil.

5.   Dog – I have never had a dog before, well, not really. We had a Weiner dog for maybe a few years.  Then my dad heartlessly gave him away because he was messing on the carpet (the dog, not my dad).  Now I have Chewy and he is so full of love and adoration; he and I spoon every night while Chad is upstairs doing whatever it is that he does after 9:00 when I get in bed.

In summation everyone should have more gratitude.  The more you focus on what you love the less you whine and moan about what you don’t love.  Because honestly your friends, family and coworkers don’t want to hear all that nonsense.  Be different, be weird, and be grateful for what you have!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2008 9:09 pm

    Awww… I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one that spoons with a dog!

    Great to see you last night 🙂

  2. Gigi permalink
    August 14, 2008 12:47 pm

    Amen sister! It’s funny you wrote this, Eric and I were just talking about how far we have come since that tiny 1 bedroom apartment in the Village. We are definitely blessed!

Leave a Reply

