Skip to content

Not My Fantasy Football

August 22, 2008

There are 4 reasons why men in the same social circle might all gather in one place:

1.     Poker Games

2.     Weddings

3.     Funerals (optional)

4.     Fantasy Football

 

So you can see that the list is short and quite frankly I am not even that confident about number 2 and 3….but oh number 4, yeah that’s the kicker (haha, football reference).  You know it’s almost football season when the temperatures in Texas dip below 99, almost time to break out my 49ers Sweatshirt.  Another tell tail sign – the number of phone calls and texts that my husband receives increases by about 107.5%.  I try not to roll my eyes and release the heavy sighs deep within but sometimes they just pop out.  And then I get to hear the “When you met me I loved football” speech.  Yeah, yeah, well when we met I used to shave my legs every day (even in the winter) so things change, whatever.  I really can’t think of anything more completely intelligent to say about Fantasy Football but I am confident that as the season progresses there will many, many, many, many more FF related posts.  It’s just unavoidable. 

 

P.S. I will honestly say that I don’t HATE football or FF and I am glad that Chad truly enjoys it but around the end of November my patience and “loving wife” bit begins to wear thin.  However, there are two bonuses:

1.     Dunken Donuts’ coffee every Sunday morning (coffee for me, donuts for him (darn his overactive metabolism))

2.     The winnings (although I don’t want to jinx us this year I have become accustom to a January shopping spree…..so Eric I encourage you to draft Troy Aikman this year, he’s a great quarter back and we all know how you feel about quarter backs).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:46 pm

    Poor Eric he will never live down the 3 quarterbacks!

  2. karadouglas permalink
    August 22, 2008 1:55 pm

    Join me in WAFFL
    Women Against Fantasy Football Leagues.
    CK out my rant on my blog
    http://karadouglas.wordpress.com/

  3. Beth P. permalink
    August 22, 2008 2:08 pm

    Shoot me now! 🙂

  4. Eric permalink
    August 22, 2008 2:38 pm

    Katherine, For your information I have decided to forego the quarterback position this year and instead plan on drafting 3 tight ends with my first 3 picks.
    Thanks, Eric

  5. Cindy Oates permalink
    August 22, 2008 8:26 pm

    Ah ha! I finally figured it out – where Chewy learned to hike! Girl, you need to take him out of the room(s) when there is football on the TV!

Leave a Reply

