Skip to content

Working Remotely or Remotely Working

September 5, 2008

This is the question as of late!  Our company has decided, gloriously, to join the masses in the experiment known as remote officing.  And despite Word’s snotty little red underlining of “officing” it is officially a word now – Word, so look it up!  Anyhow, for a variety of reason all too boring to name Ziglar will be experiencing a nice healthy blend of working from home and in the office – three days at home and two days in the office (barring appointments and requirement meeting times).

The first thought that pops into people’s heads is, “Oh no, that won’t work, how will we….and what about….oh and there is no way we can because of…”  And when I say “people” I mean me.  Six months ago when the question was first posed I thought NO WAY, it will be too hard too confusing and how will we CONTROL everyone!  The anxiety continued to reel until I realized that it’s not about controlling everyone but that it was time for me to begin thinking outside the box.  However, I love my little box (keep your remarks to yourself please) because it’s safe and comfortable and I know exactly what will happen next so it’s easier said than done.  The logistics of the situation are already beginning to work themselves out – phones, computers, communication – all of that can be worked out.  I mean, HELLO, we can check movie times and map locations from our phones and they have locator chips for dogs so I think we can handle getting e-mail and answering a phone from home.

Nonetheless I did wonder, in the far corners of my mine (yes that far), if I would be disciplined enough to do it myself and if others could handle it as well.  This week has really been my first opportunity to experiment, I have worked at home 2 days and only been in the office once – for you math majors that means that one day (Thursday) was spent away from work completely (sort of).  Without much ado here is a simple list of my observations (the good, bad and ugly):

1.     I am able to stay up later at night and spend time with my husband because instead of waking up at 5:30, getting ready and sitting in traffic I wake up at 7:15 get some coffee and plop my pajama bottom butt at my computer to begin work at 7:30 – DEFINITE BONUS, at least to me although Chad might say otherwise.

2.    It feels a bit like I work for myself now, which is great because I feel an even deeper sense of ownership of my work load and the output I create – rather than feeling like I work for “the man” and I am on his time (even if THE MAN is my grandpa, you get the point).

3.    The dog is not sure what is going on or why I am here all day but I think he digs it (either that or he is posting my resume on Monster right now for fear that I have been fired), and I am certain that a little dog slobber is good for my laptop (I hope).

4.    I am saving money!  In gas, lunches, and lunch hour shopping trips that I used to take to break up a long 8 hour day.

5.    Rather than darting out the doors promptly at 4:30 I find myself checking e-mail after hours and running later than 4:30 in my regular work hours.

6.    Conference calls are nearly as hellacious as before!  It turns out that sitting on your couch while someone drones on isn’t so bad – not that anyone I work with drones on but just as an example.

7.    I think I might start taking lunch breaks to walk in the neighborhood – so working from home will make me skinny too!

8.    It’s nice that the biggest investment I have ever made in my life, the house, is finally getting used all day by someone other than the dog.  It would be like purchasing a Gucci purse and then only carrying it once per month (other than being a sin it just doesn’t seem right).

9.    On the down side I do feel a little over anxious about others wondering if I am working or not so I take my cell phone with me everywhere I go whether it’s to the kitchen for a snack or the bathroom….and I am constantly running my “where were you” excuses through my head – I was in the bathroom, making coffee, I had to put pants on because the UPS man came by…you know just regular stuff.  Now if I were in the office I could leave my desk for hours and not worry about it because I would be giving face time to other people there.  But I guess it isn’t the worst thing in the world.

10. I can multi-task like nobody’s business.  I can sort laundry while waiting for something to download or paint my toenails while I am on hold with a vendor….whereas before I might get super annoyed at those type of time wasters now I have a new perspective.

So that’s it, I know it’s a long one, sorry, I have had all week to gather my thoughts and I think we all agree that is way too long.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy Oates permalink
    September 5, 2008 8:39 pm

    Okay, you have convinced me to start working from home! WOO HOO! It will be great! I will totally save a TON of money on gas and tolls. I won’t have to get up at 4:15 anymore. No more afternoon commute traffic which I absolutely loothe. I’ll save money on the make-up that I won’t be wearing oh, and shampoo that I won’t be using, the list goes on and on! I’ll see you Tuesday and Thursday next week, Kate! Thanks for the inspiring blog! WOO HOO!!!!!!!! Tell the gang at work I say hey!

  2. September 5, 2008 11:14 pm

    Very Nice! Now for webcams and virtual world meetings in Second Life where you look like yourself, only better!

  3. Jenni permalink
    September 6, 2008 12:15 am

    I am so happy you have joined the world of working from home! I love the summer time because I have to work at home while Andy is at the station. I LOVED working in my pj’s!! People at work now call me pajama mama because they knew I was woking in my cumfy pjs 🙂 What a life!!! I might just consider working from home more often 🙂

  4. Mallory permalink
    September 8, 2008 2:10 pm

    I am so glad you all are doing this…makes so much sense. Maybe a little jealous that it wasn’t started like March ’07 :)! Miss you tons!!!

  5. September 8, 2008 4:38 pm

    I’m with Mal!! But that’s really exciting and I know you’ll love being at home more. Just don’t start dressing up the dog or decoupaging your countertops. Not that I’m speaking from experience of anything…

Leave a Reply

