Skip to content

A Year and Counting

September 11, 2008

This coming Monday is our one year wedding anniversary.  I can’t even believe it.  Time has flown by – I guess it tends to do that when you are busy folding 105 pairs of athletic socks and throwing away empty Gatorade bottles….not to mention cleaning up dog poop (which has less to do with Chad and more to do with the dog Chad came with).  A lot has happened this year, good, bad and even bad to good:

1.   The day we returned from our blissful honeymoon I became aware of the fact that I would be in charge of unpacking all of our gifts and writing thank you notes and Chad would be VP in charge of Football watching – it’s a rough job but someone had to do it.

(but how could I be mad, look at that face)

2.  Our perfect little starter home began to fall off the earth and our picturesque backyard began inching away from us one day at a time – on the up side the dog had his backyard expanded by at least 40 ft but the neighbors were less than pleased about the little Chewy gifts.

3.  3-4 birds had their last moments on this earth on our roof, RIP you blessed creatures.

4.  Chad found a snake skin the length of his leg and promptly refused to ever go in the attic again….but insisted on keeping the stupid skin for months until I made him throw it away and stop showing all of our guests, “Hi we are so glad to have you to dinner, check out our snake skin!”

5.  I was only asked 325 times when we want to start having kids, not so bad for the first year.

6.  And only 295 of those people responded with a look of bewilderment when I told them we weren’t going to have children……don’t worry it’s the same face I get when I see a woman and her 6 children at the grocery store.

7.  We celebrated Chewy’s 11th birthday – Gigi is convinced he will be the oldest living Miniature Pincher on earth.

8.  We floated the river in Austin with friends.

9.  Celebrated the birth of Sophia Kate (Gigi’s and Eric’s little girl)

10.              And finally, at the last minute we purchased our 2nd home in a little over a year. But it’s wonderful and beautiful and it has a pool (my dream come true)….and the best part is I get to share it with the man of my dreams – it’s Chad just in case anyone was confused.

(aren’t we cute?)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    September 12, 2008 9:26 am

    So the picture of you two is making me cry. Not nice to do to your auntie at 4:20 a.m. or anytime for that matter. I just need to say that I think you two are so meant for each other. Chad is a keeper, hey, wait. Okay, I won’t say it! I love you both dearly! Congratulations!

  2. September 12, 2008 7:03 pm

    It’s been a year already?? Crazy! Congratulations 🙂 Any big anniversary plans?

    Oh, and when are you guys going to start having kids?

    KIDDING.

  3. Beth P. permalink
    September 12, 2008 8:46 pm

    Awww…congrats! It should make you feel better to know that you were not alone on the wedding gift/thank you note gig. In addition, I had no idea that saying…”Please never do MY laundry” ….would translate to in Jon’s mind as …”I never have to do any laundry again.” 🙂

  4. Cindy permalink
    September 14, 2008 11:16 pm

    So how was your anniversary dinner?

Leave a Reply

