Skip to content

Ray of Sunshine

September 18, 2008

I haven’t written in a while – it has been a completely hectic couple of weeks.  We are packing, coordinating with contractors, dealing with surprise expenses, I have a cold, Chad’s company shut down yesterday and I found a bunny floating in our pool (and I don’t mean lounging sipping a fruity drink, I mean face down gonner kind of float).  I could probably think of a number of other things that have gone wrong in the last two weeks but I don’t want to be Debbie Downer, although it is a role I feel completely comfortable with.  I will be so relieved when we can get into the new house and out of the old.

You know the most painful type of expenses are the ones that are super costly and yet the results are less than noticeable – like a new set of tires, shoe inserts, or say, oh I don’t know, ALL NEW WINDOWS for your home.  Yep, $6K for all new windows because the existing had “popped” which means they were starting to fog and would continue to do so unless replaced.  Yesterday we went out to the house to take a look.  Hmmm, there is glass, it’s really clear, I guess, but other than that they look like….WINDOWS, plain old normal unexciting windows.  I can’t accessorize with them, sit on them or impress my guests with them, they are just windows and they aren’t even self cleaning.  They are, however, low E which means they are green and more energy efficient.  If we don’t see a vast improvement on our electric bill I am going to be super peeved.

I appear to be on a bit of a rant, sorry about that.  Wait, no I am not!  I have had a bad week and I want to share the love, or bitterness in this case.  Aren’t you glad? 

So what other bits of sunshine can I share?  Hmmmm.  I bruised my arm on the countertop last night.  We had to pay $150 to have a plug changed out at work for our new copier.  It looks like rain.  My throat hurts and I can’t breathe out of my left nostril.  And I am still feeling guilty about my chocolate shake dinner last night – my excuse was that my throat hurt and I didn’t want to eat anything else (it’s a valid excuse OK) but now I feel less than svelte.   Actually I think that about covers all of my good news for the week.  I am betting on things improving because I don’t think they can get worse – I mean I don’t even have my health and that’s what they always say when things are bad, “at least you have your health.”  Oh well, at least I have cute shoes.  That will be my new saying!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2008 6:52 pm

    Awww, Katherine! I know what you mean about the “fun” expenses… like $900 for a new AC compressor, for instance?

    Hope things get better- do we need to have lunch next week? Let me know your schedule.

    And chocolate shakes for dinner are just FINE!

  2. Mallory permalink
    September 19, 2008 5:18 pm

    I agree that chocolate shakes are just fine for dinner.

    Sorry your week sucks…it will get better. You can come change some poopy diapers for me to really put the cherry on top 🙂

    Miss ya

Leave a Reply

