Skip to content

Pictures & Fasting (or trying to)

October 15, 2008

Let’s start with pictures, as promised.  Here are some photos of my Halloween decor and the arts and crafts projects I have been working on the last few weeks (and my new office):

Sparkly pumpkins, the best kind!  This is the dining room BTW.

Scary sculls painted by the famous Katherine Lemons, inspired by the equally famous Pottery Barn.  Notice the newly painted white mantle, one of Sunday’s many projects.

Can you see my stacked pumpkins, and by stacked I am not referring to anyone’s chest size but rather the pumpkins are actually stacked one on top of the other.  And my Beware sign…it should say Beware of Decorating Wives but I couldn’t find that at JoAnns.

And the chairs, notice that I took the extra fabric and made matchy matchy napkins…which will never actually be used simply displayed (sort of like the 2 tons of lingerie I got from my bachelorette party).

Here is an up close shot of the chairs, notice the craftsmanship – not just anyone can use a staple gun you know, it takes skillz.

For good measure I thought a picture of the dog would be appropriate.  He matches my black and white theme in my office as well as the Halloween decor.  He sort of clashes with the living room and kitchen but I guess I will allow it, I will just put him away when guests come over.  (JUST KIDDING, he would be really ticked he would probably knock the door down.)

BEFORE (sorry it’s not frontal but I remembered almost too late for the before shot)

AFTER – it’s still a work in progress but you get the idea.

New office desk, curtains and chair – HA take that man room!

In just under three weeks Chad and I will be joining a group of friends and heading to Cancun, Mexico.  I am super excited.  I have been to Mexico once for a family wedding but I was only about 10 and didn’t fully enjoy all that Mexico had to offer.  But I was able to witness a beer drinking donkey at the pyramid ruins…ah the joys of culture.  Anyhow, it is my life-long mission to search out the bluest and clearest waters in the world.  So far:

1.       Belize

2.      Honduras

3.      Cayman

4.      Hawaii

a.     Maui

b.     Oahu

5.      Cozy Mel (which I know is Mexico but we were only there for a few hours on a cruise and it was after a hurricane so everything was a mess)

6.      Holly Lake

7.      Lake Lewisville

8.      Lake Tahoe

9.      Lake Travis

Ok so I guess the lakes don’t even come close but Lake Tahoe was by far the most beautiful, then Travis then Holly Lake and last and definitely least Lake Lewisville.  Lake Lewisville is like redneck paradise.  I have enjoyed many a day at Sneaky Petes and I can vouch for the redneckness.  So far I think Belize and Cayman are the top two in terms of clear water.  Hawaii was actually disappointing in that area.  I am excited to see what Mexico has to offer, I just pray it’s not a stomach bug or Mexican jail.

The whole point of that was to say that due to my impending bikini time I decided to fast yesterday, alongside my Uncle Tom.  I haven’t really fasted before, on purpose.  I ate a nice lunch yesterday and had intended to go until dinner tonight.  However, things have not gone as planned.  Last night as I worked busily on organizing my office I may or may not have broken down and had a few hot tamales….and candy corns.  But candy isn’t food, right?  It got me through the night though!  This morning I had a few cups of java and then about 10:00 my stomach went, “GRRRRRRR, where is my food, what is going on, stop this nonsense right now!”  So I caved and fed it a few pieces of pineapple.  Well, nobody ever told me that my willpower inspired them and today is a perfect example of why!

 

P.S. Have I mentioned before how much I HATE downloading and uploading pictures.  I can barely remember to take the actual picture then I have to go to all the trouble of downloading, saving, then uploading one by one.  Can you imagine if I were born during the days when you had to stay still for hours just to get an image?  Or shoot, even the days when you had to take a roll of film down to the store and wait days for them to be ready???  Nahh, there would be NO record of me or my family if I had to go through all that just a simple entry in some book:  Katherine Lemons born 1922, married husband Chad who invented the first Fantasy Football league, rumored to have a dog named Chewy but no record can be found that he existed.  Said to have been funny but due to no available photographs we can only assume that she was ugly, hence the good personality and sense of humor.

 

 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy Oates permalink
    October 15, 2008 5:07 pm

    The couch is FANTABULOUS!!!!!!!! Love the fabric, it’s going to go so nicely in your “woman room” with your new desk. Your house is really coming together, Kate. Your Uncle Rich thinks you have quite a knack for pulling things together. I happen to agree! Gee, there is so much talent in our family. Gosh.

  2. heatherwlu permalink
    October 15, 2008 8:49 pm

    I’m so impressed by the furniture recovering! Especially the couch- how did you learn how to do that?? This post makes me want to redecorate my house.

    PS- STOP FASTING KATHERINE!!! You need food. Are you really not eating anything, or are fruit and veggies okay?

  3. Cindy permalink
    October 16, 2008 12:28 am

    Heather is right – STOP FASTING KATHERINE!!!!!

  4. Gigi permalink
    October 16, 2008 1:32 am

    Um why are you fasting freak (I say this with love)? Go eat some jellie bellies!
    I love all the decor! I knew that fabric would go great with your table set, me so smart. 🙂

  5. Beth P. permalink
    October 16, 2008 2:05 pm

    You’re house looks great! I’m feeling self-conscious right now about my lack of decorating lately. Can you come do mine next? 🙂 Also…glad to know I’m not the only one with that “pile” of nice lingerie with the tags still attached.

  6. Beth P. permalink
    October 16, 2008 2:06 pm

    AND….stop fasting weirdo. 🙂

Leave a Reply

