Skip to content

It’s Shake and Bake and I Helped

November 4, 2008

Tonight I decided to get CRAZY.  Yesterday my Aunt Julie gave me some green tomatoes from her garden which made me think of my favorite movie, Fried Green Tomatoes, and therefore I fried something for the very first time in my life (other than my hair, it was a bad time in my life, I was too poor to get my hair colored professionally and the next thing you know, 3 Walgreen’s hair color boxes later I was left with nothing more than orange colored straw).  What’s more than my frying; I actually took photos of it (Heather is my hero).  Chad opted out of my fried green experiment, wimp, and instead noshed on Wing Stop.  Thanks honey, you choose meat on a bone over my home cooked meal.  Whatever.

So I even wore an apron because I remember frying tomatoes with my mom once and the grease popping up at me.  I was 12 years old and immediately following the infamous movie I insisted that we rush out to the store for some green tomatoes.  Only, there were no green ones, only red.  But she tried anyway, and they were mushy, and they sort of fell apart.  But the point is she tried.

So tonight I tried and actually, they were pretty good.  Green “maters” are sweet and crisp and the batter makes them crunchy.  I mean come on, in general anything fried is good – right?  Right.

halloween-020

Finished product, notice the um, er, grease on the paper towel – yeah it could have been worse I used vegetable oil rather than bacon grease.

halloween-021

My lovely dinner alone, after Chad has finished his wings.  I think the chicken salad with Amy’s Goddess dressing on the side makes up for the fried tomatoes.

halloween-022

This is my apron courtesy of Gigi for my wedding!  I mean, OUR wedding…ok, no I meant MY wedding, teehee.  And please, ignore my armpits I couldn’t figure out how to take a picture of myself without including the pits.  At least I showered and shaved today.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Kelli permalink
    November 4, 2008 4:23 am

    Woo Hoo….look at you, city girl! Your frying ‘maters and wearing aprons! Next you’ll have your own chicken coup and start slapping gravy on everything! heehee! I just realized that I shamefully haven’t replied to your email that I received weeks ago. Bad Kelli!

  2. heatherwlu permalink
    November 4, 2008 9:17 pm

    Fried green tomatoes are the BEST. I’m impressed, Katherine- frying definitely freaks me out. I need to get one of those little grease spatter screens.

    What did you use for the breading? Is that cornmeal?

  3. Cindy permalink
    November 5, 2008 1:17 am

    Very ‘pressive, Mrs. Bunkin! LOVE the apron! Yes, aprons were created for frying. I’ll teach you how to cook chicken fried steak. Chad will love me for that!

Leave a Reply

