Skip to content

Coke or Diet?

November 10, 2008

I am convinced that there are three kinds of people in this world:

1.    People who drink Coke

2.    People who drink Diet Coke

3.    People who drink Diet Coke but wish they could drink regular Coke

At an early age I was #1 (in so many ways, haha).  Then as I became calorically conscious I slowly and unhappily willed myself into being #3, but it was never the same.  Now, I can proudly say that I am back to being #1 but on a more modified basis.

There weren’t that many rules in my house growing up.  In general I had to go to bed (at some point), I couldn’t ride my bike across busy streets, I wasn’t allowed to watch Threes Company, and the number one rule (for everyone, even dad) was never drink mom’s last Coke.  I believe that an ice cold Coca Cola was my mom’s number one joy in life (other than her glorious daughters).  And she wasn’t just a drink out of the can type of gal either.  No, no, no.  There was a process, a ritual if you will, to her Coke experience.  First she would grab one of those insulated glasses, I think ours had feathers pressed between the plastic, then she filled it with ice.  Some might have stopped there but not her.  She would then rinse the ice with cold water, hold her hand across the top of the glass and pour the water back out.  From the fridge she would free an ice cold can of Coke, pop open the tab, tilt the glass, and slowly pour the refreshing beverage along the edge.  The less it hit the top of the ice the less it would fizz and the more flavor and carbonation it would retain.

So you see my love of Coke was natural….now my love for salad, broccoli and anything else slightly healthy those had to be learned.

Anyhow, through peer pressure and a need for skinny jeans I switched to diet coke.  Well, at first it was half and half.  It always starts small, just a weekend thing, maybe once on a random Thursday but pretty soon it was every day at lunch or on the way home from work.  I would stop at a 7-11 and get a ½ regular ½ diet Coke.  It was perfect, just enough of the real stuff to taste good and just enough of the diet stuff to take away the guilt.  Unfortunately my ½ and ½ turned to whole real quick.  One can of diet was so much easier than all that mixing.  And with the invention of Coke Zero (Splenda) I could totally fool my taste buds.  But while fooling my taste buds might have been easy my stomach was quite another story.

They say we won’t know what artificial sweeteners will do to us in 100 years, and that’s true, we won’t.  And I don’t even know what they will do to YOU in 5 years but I can tell you what they do to ME right now with no scientific research at all.  They make me feel like poop.  And yes, that is a diagnosed medical doctor-like explanation.  I really don’t feel it’s necessary to go into any detail all I can say is that over time, after drinking a lot of diet drinks (not just sodas but Crystal Light too) my stomach said PLEASE STOP HATING ME OR YOU WILL REGRET IT.  So I did.  I stopped.  And I only have a few Splenda packets a day in my coffee, which for whatever reason doesn’t affect me at all.

So while I can’t drink nearly as many sodas as before, since Chad’s eyesight is still good enough to tell if were to gain 60 pounds (can’t wait until that day though), I do REALLY relish the occasional REAL Coke that I have…..and yes, I wet the ice, and pour down the side of the glass (although I would never own any plastic cups with feathers pressed in the middle).

 

cokeGOOD   dietcoke BAD

P.S. Sugar free candy and ice cream – THE WORST.  Beware I have talked to multiple people who can’t endure the sugar free treats or can but only do so alone.  If you know what I mean, and I think you do.  And if you don’t then just Google it or something because I refuse to go into detail.

P.P.S. Heather is going to probably curse this blog as she can drink about 3 Diet Cokes in a 45 minute lunch, I have seen it with my own eyes.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    November 11, 2008 1:51 am

    Thank you for not sharing my sugar free candy experience. I owe you.

  2. heatherwlu permalink
    November 11, 2008 2:32 am

    But regular Coke has high fructose corn syrup, so we soft drink fans are pretty much screwed either way. At least I’ll die happy!!!

    Tervis Tumblers! Is that what your mom used to drink out of? We had some that had fishing lures between the plastic layers. Classy.

Leave a Reply

