Skip to content

Red Headed Scandal?

December 21, 2008

The musical/movie Annie has been a family tradition since before I was even born. My older cousin, Amey, was the first fan, then me, and then later my sister. While I am content with distant memories of dancing and singing while the record played in the background my sister is not. Currently there is a copy of Annie at every one of her regular hangouts – her house, my Aunt’s house and now mine (Merry Christmas). Believe it or not that little DVD was hard to locate, apparently kids would rather watch Zac Ephron spin around and make goo goo eyes at Vannessa than a musical about an orphan in the 1930s. But you know, whatever. In 20 years Annie will still be alive and kicking and Zac will be overweight and starring in Celebrity Rehab with Dr. Drew (equally as amusing as High School Musical).

Anyway, since I am watching the classic for the firs time in years it’s pretty amazing how scandalous it actually is and even more amazing that I was watching it from the age of four on. Let’s review:

     

  1. A drunk horny cigarette smoking red headed woman (Mrs. Hanigan) who somehow becomes a hero at the end of the movie.
  2. Several dancing scenes with women’s underwear being revealing (all be it not thongs or anything)
  3. An overly sexed blonde (Bernadete Peters).
  4. Lots of GD language.
  5. And a somewhat questionable brother sister relationship between Mrs. Hanigan and Rooster.
  6.  

If you have no idea what I am talking about I seriously recommend you watch it. Even if you don’t like musicals – I loathe most musicals but something about Annie (perhaps the nostalgia factor) makes me feel all warm and fuzzy inside. And it makes me want to sing and dance (sorry Chad), which is odd since I don’t usually have the inclination to do either (which is a good thing for sure).

 

P.S. I am getting rather good at Wii tennis and it makes me feel like actually picking up a physical racket again (not just a controller) and getting out there on the courts. But that will have to wait for consistently good weather, not too hot not too cold or windy, and definitely not a level orange pollution day or anything, and not too sunny either (wouldn’t want to damage my eyes). And those ideal weather days will have to fall on a Saturday or Sunday since I work M-F. But you know, it could happen…..maybe. Ok, probably not.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. amey permalink
    January 1, 2009 5:25 pm

    OMG, I SO know what you mean! If I could go back I would call CPS on my parents for letting me watch it. I wonder what the statute of limitations is on that anyway? Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

