Skip to content

I’m Going Into the City…I’ll Be Right Back

December 30, 2008

Just watched the first episodes of The City – LOVE IT.  Same vibe as The Hills, only not as played out since it’s all new.  When I say “vibe” I mean still gossipy, still good eye candy (for the fashion and what not) and still the same drama – just a different zip code and weather forecast.  But for those of you that watched let me take a moment to talk about little miss socialite Olivia.  I guess I must be the snobbiest of the snobs because I have always felt and believed strongly that most people who are “socialites” are wanna-bes because people who are truly old money and classy don’t go around talking about how well to do they are or name drop or talk about their debutant balls (and no this is not a good time for a crude joke, this is serious).  Nothing says “needy” and “insecure” like this statement, “Oh my gosh nice to meet you, I am having one of my big dinner parties this weekend, which reminds me of my debutant ball, where I wore one of my first pairs of Jimmy Choos, which reminds me that I know Jimmy Choo himself.”  OH my gosh I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.  Which is, of course, exactly what the executive producers of The City wanted me to do upon their introduction of Olivia (who probably just got the job at DVFB because she was pretty for the sheer purpose of being on the show).  So anyway, that’s how I feel about that – if you are really a socialite and rich and stuff you won’t have to tell me it will come up naturally or I will discover it one day when you drive your Mercedes to my house after attending a charity ball (or something like that, but you get the point).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelli permalink
    January 7, 2009 10:10 pm

    I knew I could count on you for “The City” commentary. I 100% agree with you about Olivia. She is sooo already on my nerves.

Leave a Reply

