Skip to content

Big Exciting Day

January 14, 2009

Yesterday was a big exciting day.  Ok, that’s a lie, but I will let you be the judge.  Got up and went to work (yeah me).  At lunch I needed to run to Walgreen’s, mostly to pick up one of those Vicks Vapor nose sticks.  It is this wonderful creation that looks like a short tampon and you just stick it up a nostril and immediately you are filled with the glorious vapors that help you breathe when you are all stopped up (please see pictures at the bottom).  The good news is I was able to purchase the cheaper Wal-stick instead – I love buying generic OTC drugs because it’s my way to fight the man.  And by “man” I mean the giant pharmaceutical companies that make millions off of my sore throat and congestion.  Because unless you live in a cave in Utah or are forced to wear long skirts and never cut your hair you would know that the generic brand is EXACTLY the same.  Now mind you, this is only true for OTC meds, and not jeans, shoes or purses (the important things in life).  Because I would much rather sport Wranglers from Wal-Mart that Schmevens from Wal-Mart, at lease they are authentic.

 

Anyhow, I digress as I usually do.  What else did I end up with in my bag at Walgreen’s?  A new red nail polish, replacement bronzer (as mine is currently in pieces), and 2 packs of shoe insoles (2 for $5 baby!).  Just to be clear, the insoles are because I have narrow feet they aren’t those odor eaters or anything, geez.

 

After my exciting rendezvous with Walgreen’s it was off to the grocery store after work.  Nothing terribly exciting to report except that the checker noticed my new boots and he made some exaggerated joke about my ID birth date not being realistic.  I asked if he was taking tips or something.  I mean, come on, maybe I don’t look 29 but I know I don’t look 19 either dude (thanks nonetheless).

 

I returned home and Chad and I settled in for the two hour premier of AMERICAN IDOL, yipeeeee!  We happen to love this show as of last season.  And last night’s premier was pretty danged funny. I won’t go into detail in case you don’t watch but here are my two observations:

1.  I wanted to punch bikini girl in the face.

2. Just because nobody says anything when you get into the choir doesn’t mean you should move front and center for the solo (where are some of these people’s loved ones and why aren’t they having interventions with them pre-reality TV audition).

 

We watched an episode of The Big Bang Theory.  Then Chad said he was determined to hang out with me all night (um, ok) and sat down beside me to view the latest episode of The Real Housewives of Orange County.  Ugg, that didn’t last long at my request.  He insisted on making comments and lots of background noise. I like to watch my guilty pleasure TV alone because I don’t need an outside perspective ruining my experience.  And in case you watch this show here are my observations:

1.   Gretchen is a hooker

2.   Vicki is desperately in need of love and constant affirmations of that love

3.   Tammy’s husband is so nice and handsome

4.   Raquel or Rachel or whatever, the teenager, is a walking stereotype and soon to be star of an After School Special (if you are going to underage drink you should probably NOT do it on a reality TV show)

5.   Jeana is boring and balanced and her kids are the same

 

Once my show was over I played a few games of Wii tennis (I rock) and decided to take the Wii fitness test.  Which was a bad idea, I think they were way too harsh on me.  It said I was 38 – really?  You can give me my age based on how well I bowl, play baseball and hit tennis balls?  Or does the Wii have secret cameras and its trying to tell me to stay out of the sun.  Either way, I am pissed and I will retake the test and be 8 next time.

 

Then, I went to bed – and tried to sleep even though every 10 minutes I would wake up because I couldn’t breathe through my left nostril.  If I don’t recover from this cold/sinus infection soon I have asked my Aunt to take me into a field and just get it over with.

 

NOW that was an exciting day – no?

 

vicks  See it’s small enough to stow away in a  clutch even, if by chance it was New Year’s Eve and you were determined to go out despite your stuffy head because after all you had been holed up in the house for 2 weeks (in theory of course)!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    January 15, 2009 1:04 am

    So glad to see we have upgraded from the Afrin, but please try not to get addicted.

  2. Cindy permalink
    January 16, 2009 10:27 am

    I think it’s time to choose a field.

Leave a Reply

