Skip to content

The Milkshake Diet

January 21, 2009

Since the purchase of the aforementioned bikini I have been thinking that it might be a good idea to get totally serious about healthy eating and yes, maybe even some form of exercise.    While the latter half of that objective is still in question I have been actively working towards the first half.  So for dinner last night I had a bowl of Fiber One cereal (I heart you F1), some unsalted peanuts in the shell (which of course I unshelled) and I was sipping on some Propel when Chad mentioned that he might go to Chick Fila.  Hmmm, really.  “Well, um, you know, I would split a shake with you if you wanted.”  He declined my offer and said he wanted his own so I too was forced to get my own.  In his absence I thought, “I can do it, I can have just a few sips or half and throw the rest away.”  If you are familiar with Chick Fila’s shakes you would know that this is just wishful thinking.  They are made with real ice cream, hand spun, and topped with the fluffiest whipped cream you have ever tasted…..I always think it’s funny when they ask, “Would you like whipped cream with that?”  I’m like, “Well, duh, I am already getting a milk shake I hardly think the topping is going to make or break me.”

Anyhow, Chad returned with the yummy goodness and we began watching American Idol.  After a few gulps it was like I forgot what I was drinking and slipped into a sugar coma where I didn’t even realize I was sucking down the entire thing.  Towards the end Chad offered to throw it away and with an evil snarl and slit eyes I angrily declined his offer.  Yes, I quickly finished the entire thing off.  BAD IDEA.

Do you know what DOESN’T go well with Fiber One and peanuts?  A giant chocolate shake, that’s what.  So I spent the rest of night feeling like I had a food baby (we watched a little bit of Juno last night) and like I was going to hurl.  I won’t say whether I did or didn’t, as that might be just too much information.  But do let this be a warning to you.  For what I am not sure, perhaps to stay away from milkshakes, or maybe to not think you are stronger than you are, or even still to think twice before mixing fiber and chocolate.  Who knows, all I know is that I should probably skip food of any kind today.

milkshake

This is just bad news.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 23, 2009 7:19 pm

    Katherine, your milkshake brings all the boys to the yard.

Leave a Reply

