Skip to content

The Running Shoe Workout Program

January 23, 2009

If you are one of my 10 avid readers you probably know that I have a lot of different workout programs, none of which involve actual exercise and especially not going to a gym. Most of them center around small, minor, low-impact movements about once or twice a month. For instance, my leg lifts and half crunches while riding the couch and watching reality TV programs. Not to mention my leg bouncing while sitting and watching a movie technique (sit, cross legs, bounce the top leg, and switch). It’s probably safe to say that I won’t be featured in Fitness or Self anytime soon, but then again why would I want to be photographed in a sports bra and yoga pants (um, I wouldn’t). Despite my lack of respect in the fitness community I think I have a new program that just might change that. I call it the Running Shoe Workout Program.

It all began yesterday when I was tooling around Nordstrom Rack on my lunch break. I wasn’t looking for anything special so I hit the shoe aisles and happened upon the fitness rack size 10 (please keep your jokes about giant feet to yourself, I am 5’9 if I wore a size 7 I might fall forward a lot and nobody wants to see that). Anyhow, I found the perfect pair which is rare because along with have a large foot it is also very narrow (at one time I was a AAA, which for those of you who have no idea what that means, it means skinny in shoe language). My feet were so narrow in high school that my poor mother searched the planet for narrow loafers because LUCKY ME I had to wear a uniform and that meant loafers too. While all the other girls sported the cool retro loafers with actual pennies stuck in them I slummed around in old lady Trotters that had support cushion (thank God they changed that rule before my Junior year and we could wear whatever footwear we wanted). Anyhow, I have totally digressed.

I have not bought athletic shoes since college, when New Balance were really cool so I figured I was due for some real walking/running shoes. I also figured that some new shoes would inspire me into action. The same way that high heels make you feel sexy running shoes make you feel sporty, and feeling sporty could potentially make me want to, you know, be active or something.

Today I tested my theory at work. It’s a remote office day so I figured why not show up in my Juicy running suit and new shoes. And let me just say, I can already tell the difference. I mean, I haven’t stepped on a scale yet or anything but I have been moving around the building more often because my feet feel so darn good, and there is a spring in my step due to the Nike air cushion. So far the Katherine Lemons Running Shoe Workout Program is working like a charm. Later, when I get home I might even sprint up the stairs once or twice, probably more like once, or maybe more like a light jog up the stairs, or a fast walk, or more realistically just a normal jaunt up the stairs. But I don’t want to over do it on my first day.

shoes

These are them by the way, the inspiration!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelli permalink
    January 24, 2009 3:11 am

    Congrats, you now have 11 readers. Chad thought this blog was funny. I insisted he read it since he is always giving me sh*t about not working out!

Leave a Reply

