Skip to content

Say a Little Prayer

February 10, 2009

I know everyone is on the edge of their seats about the trees that we chose so (drum roll please) after much thought I (I mean WE) chose two Chinese Pistachios.  While the Red Oaks seemed lovely he didn’t recommend two of them because of their size which would have left me with two different trees, which is totally unacceptable in my world.  We would be off balance and I am sure I would eventually start to lean to once side. 

I am looking forward to having something in the yard again, even if they are tiny baby trees.  And NO my dear family members, baby trees will not somehow ignite my motherly instinct and cause me to yearn for a child of my own, sorry, it will take a bit more than that.

NEW PROJECT – so for months now I have been planning (all in my head of course) my next project.  When we moved offices a dear Prayer Bench was not able to make the move with us due to lack of space.  So I rescued the relic (from 1975, indicated by the orange cushion) and brought it home to live in our garage until I was able to find the proper tools.  You see, I have this vision that the prayer bench, once reserved for sacred moments with God, will someday become our entryway bench reserved for coat hanging and clutter storage.  I know that might not sound very good but its other fate would have been the dump, and I somehow think a life of holding coats and scarves is far more meaningful than no life at all.  Anyhow, I have been waiting until I was able to borrow a nail gun from someone as this project will take a bit more than a hot glue gun and a Bedazzler.  And today the small nail gun and GIANT compressor have arrived (thanks Darren).  While the owner seems particularly concerned with me shooting a nail into my leg I am simply worried about the dang thing exploding or something.  The extension of my tool knowledge thus far has been hammers, pliers (mostly for fixing cheap jewelry), staple guns and this guy I once dated (names won’t be named but you know who you are).  But I have total confidence that after a few minor mistakes I will be able to present to you a beautiful Pottery Barn-esk entryway bench that looks something like this:

 

 storagebenchcat

 At least from afar, if you visit our house after I finish I may require you to stand in the dining room to view, as an up close glance might reveal too many first-timer mistakes.  And it won’t look exactly like this but you get the general idea….maybe I shouldn’t post anything that way whatever I end up with won’t be disappointing? 

 

P.S. Chad and I are headed to LA at the end of this month – and since Heather Bakes asked advice for their New Orleans trip I too will ask advice – any ideas on cool places to eat and visit?  I will be all alone on Friday while Chad does some work related things (yawn) so I plan to shop on Robertson and nonchalantly look for celebrities.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    February 10, 2009 6:43 pm

    I have total faith in you and know the bench will look beautiful, all your projects do!

    I had no idea you were planning to go to NO. I have a few suggestions from all the times I have been but I can ask my Aunt Polly too, who lives there.

  2. Chad permalink
    February 10, 2009 9:37 pm

    I think you should ask your dear readers if renting a bag or purse is a logical decision..

  3. February 11, 2009 5:47 am

    I’ve never been to LA, but if I did go the first two places I would visit may or may not be Pinkberry and Fred Segal.

  4. February 11, 2009 5:48 am

    Oh, and that Coffee Bean that Perez “offices” out of.

    PS- YES, renting a purse is a good decision.

Leave a Reply

