Skip to content

Did Someone Say Arts & Crafts?

February 16, 2009

The weekend has been pretty relaxing.  We headed to The Lobster (cool code for Red Lobster) and I sinfully indulged in a cheesy biscuit, I haven’t even been brave enough to see how many calories are in one of those things (scary).  Saturday I awoke ready to tackle my prayer bench project – I measured, stripped the material and old school foam padding and was headed off to Home Depot with nothing but confidence.  I had it all planned out:

1.       Bank

2.      Tan (I know, it’s bad but I really only go about twice a month to keep me feeling less like a frumpy thirty year old)

3.      Craft Store

4.      Home Depot

But somewhere between tanning and the craft store doubt began to creep in.  Like, what about the bench portion of this project, and did I measure correctly?  What if the wood was a little too long or short, I don’t have a table saw, which could mean endless trips to Home Depot and complete frustration.  Hmmm, I could just throw caution to wind and go for it…..or I could go to the mall instead.  BINGO, the mall it was!  Sorry prayer bench project you will have to be delayed for a few more days/weeks.

Saturday night, V-DAY, was nice and relaxing too.  No overcrowded restaurants, no $200 meal, overpriced wine, or dressing up in uncomfortable garb.  Nope, we picked up sushi to go ($25), a bottle of champagne ($4.98, only the best for me and my hubby), and we both sported our most comfortable “uniforms” (AKA elastic banded pants and t-shirts)….oh and some Swedish fish, Twizzlers and Jelly Bellies (for the movie of course).  And then we enjoyed our hot tub ($10 in heating) and watched a movie.  In total about $45 spent, not too shabby for an intimate Valentine’s Day!

Today, Sunday, I had a girl day with Gigi and Sophia (the most precious 10 ½ month old in the world).  We did lots of party shopping (the one year celebration is a little over a month away) and since we were in the area we also had to stop into Nordstrom Rack.  When I arrived home though I was in craft mode so I finished a lamp recovering project and did a cute little table decoration for Sophia’s first birthday in March:

 artscrafts-001

artscrafts-003

artscrafts-004

 

 

The theme is obviously cupcakes, and personally I can’t think of anything better than cupcakes – in the world.  There will be a full array of pictures to come after the big day on the 28th of March.

 

Well, tonight I will wrap up all the excitement with a beauty mask, perhaps some nail polish, and a new In Style magazine.

 

P.S. Chad and I are sort of waiting for the dog to explode.  Today while we were both away Chewy decided to climb up onto Chad’s desk shelf and eat ½ of a huge bag of Swedish Fish.  Now, I know how I feel after eating too many gummies, they sort of all gather together in my stomach and become one giant gummy….and Chewy is only 20 pounds so it’s only a matter of time before the fish strike back and revolt!  Yikes, I just hope it’s not on the carpet or in the bed.

 

P.P.S. Chad proudly told me that it was a GOOD THING he had already eaten the other half of the bag.  Yeah sweetie, thank goodness, you are a life saver.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    February 16, 2009 10:13 am

    Best blog ever, Kate! Fun, entertaining, witty, creative, uplifting – just like you! I love you!

  2. Gigi permalink
    February 16, 2009 2:50 pm

    We had a great day with Aunt Kate too! Like I said the letters are so, so awesome and I am very happy you offered to paint them 🙂 hehehe!

Leave a Reply

