Skip to content

XS TP

February 18, 2009

So I am at the Gap on Saturday (on the aforementioned mall excursion) and I am looking for long workout pants and a hoodie that won’t make me look like a fat 5th grader after 4 washes (in other words, the sleeves shrink up to my elbows and the zipper won’t go above my naval).  It’s a constant search; if you are tall you know that workout and lounge pants are the last of the Mohicans as far as pants that don’t come in LONGS go.  Back in the day not even jeans for women came in lengths, oh except for ankle length – since it’s so hard to shorten pants but apparently easy to create more material out of thin air.  Can you tell I am just a little bitter?  And I HATE shopping for clothes on line because they never fit the way I imagined they would when I was staring at them on the super model. 

Anyhow, I am thumbing through hoodies when I decide to ask the nearby associate what XS TP means?  I thought perhaps the “TP” might indicate Tall Petite (which is an oxymoron I realize) but I was hoping it meant Tall something…  She thought for a moment and then told me that TP was the same as XS but in French.  Well, quite frankly I don’t want to meet the girl who is an XS and can speak French because I might have to harm her.  They didn’t have any of the other sizes in French so am I to deduct that all French women are XS TP?  Great, awesome, just another reason for the French to be snotty.  On that note I begrudgingly grabbed my M L (medium long) and headed for the dressing room, cursing the French and the petite skinny bisnatch that would be purchasing the hoodie and matching pants (and probably still have to have them taken in at the waist).  My whole life I have longed to be petite but at this point I am like 99.9% sure it’s not going to happen.  In fact I have the same likelihood of being petite as I do of having a twin, which I have also wanted my entire life.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    February 19, 2009 1:08 pm

    Oh, Kate. You definitely have your mother’s wonderful sense of humor! Thanks for the laugh this morning! I loves you!

  2. Beth S. permalink
    February 19, 2009 2:42 pm

    Ok if you’re not petite then I’m shamu…I think we need to get you a new mirror!

  3. Jill permalink
    February 20, 2009 4:47 pm

    Kate, go to New York & Co. They have long sizes and I wear a sm (sometimes even an xs) there so I know you would too!

Leave a Reply

