Skip to content

LA Trip Part ONE: Take Me to Robertson

February 28, 2009

Get ready for a few installments of this LA trip, as it’s only Friday and I already have lots to tell you about.  First of all, because I didn’t really book the itinerary I didn’t realize that we weren’t flying into LAX.  Nope, instead we flew into the smallest airport on earth known as Bob Hope Airport.  Really?  I didn’t realize that there was such a place, but there is and they have ONE baggage claim conveyor belt.  I have seen supermarket checkout belts longer than this thing.  But nonetheless it sufficed and we were able to get our luggage and get out.  Here are the first photos taken on a bit of a camera tangent.  Chad was embarrassed that I wanted to take a picture of, well, everything.  It’s just that everything here is so different than Dallas – AKA interesting.

 cali-001

Look at the hills.  We have those in Dallas – they can be found right next to the unicorns and natural blondes.

cali-002

cali-004

A bit more interesting arcitecture than Plano, TX.

cali-003

The famous Pinkberry!

 

This morning was BLISSFUL.  I woke up in a giant fluffy bed with no little black dog begging to go potty (although I do miss him so) with no real plans!  Well, my name is Katherine so of course I had plans but no certain times or deadlines, just the whole day ahead of me.  I ordered room service, which I can only assume was created by God on the 5th day because it is the most luxurious act that I can imagine.  Not only do I not have to cook, I don’t even have to leave the room to get it.  So I ordered an egg white omelet with coffee.  But more important than the coffee was the real cream.  I think the coffee was just a means to drink half of the container of cream.  Oh it was heavenly; I love hotel coffee for that very reason.

 cali-008

(And I ate it IN BED!)

Then it was off to Robertson where I was just certain I would run into Reese W. and Lauren Conrad and we could catch up on old times.  But alas they and the rest of the stars must have been busy because it was just me and the rest of the normal folk.  When I say normal of course I mean in terms of LA.  There were old hags with big bags (and bigger wallets) and then there was the typical Beverly Hills blonde: black Mercedes, giant lips with matching boobs, uber tight black dress, super high black Chimmy Choos, and LONG “blonde” hair.  Just viewing the spectacle that was her made me exhausted, it seemed like a lot of work if you ask me.  Oh, and I almost forgot the sales girl at Ivy.  Ivy makes the over embellished tops and dresses that you might see a Real Housewife sporting – lots of bling around the cleavage area surrounded by a flowy printed material.  Anyhow, the tall blonde sales girl was texting while greeting me, and then she and the manager (I assume) began a deep discussion about whether or not you could wear socks at the airport.  The matter was so much in question that they even asked me, so I assured them that while, yes, they make you remove your shoes you do not have to remove your socks.  OMG thank goodness.  She then proceeded to tell her manager about all the men lately that thought she was hot, tried to get her number, stared at her, or otherwise affirmed her beauty.  Which, by the way, was not that impressive (and I can say that because if she were I would say so, I am not a hater, just a realist).    I must go now because there is lots of primping to do before Chad and I hit the town!

 

P.S.  We had dinner at Morton’s Steakhouse last night with Chad’s boss and coworker – YUM.

P.P.S.  The shopping on Robertson was good overall but did you know that a child’s onesie could cost $195?  No?  Well it can.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2009 2:14 pm

    Glad you are having a great time!

  2. Cindy permalink
    March 1, 2009 11:50 pm

    There’s nothing, and I mean NOTHING, like a big fluffy bed in a nice hotel room! And yes, room service and breakfast in bed….ahhhh….that’s the life! I’m so glad Mrs. Bunkin was able to vacation in style as she so deserves with her Mr. Bunkin by her side! What could be better?

Leave a Reply

