Skip to content

Flowers, Green Smoothies and Mr. Clean OH MY

March 10, 2009

blog-001

I have two words for you: Valentine’s Day.  Yep, these roses are from February 13th actually, because Chad bought them a day in advance.  I am no math genius but according to my calculations that is like 25 days – for cut flowers. And look, they are even growing little vines or something.  Pretty cool.

 

And now, one word: Smoothie.  I often make smoothies for dinner because they are filling, yummy and healthy.  My recipe:

½ cup of plain yogurt

½ cut soy milk

½ cup of ice

3-4 frozen strawberries

3-4 frozen pieces of mango

1 banana

2 Splenda (ok, not so healthy but I still need a little something more to cut the plain yogurt taste)

 

Tonight after much coercion from my Uncle (the same one that convinced us to visit Venice Beach) I added a handful of fresh spinach.  I know some of you are thinking YUCK (like my husband) but you know what, I couldn’t even taste it.  And it didn’t turn green, I think because of all the other stuff in there.  But blended spinach (or any leafy green) retains almost all of the nutrients, whereas when eaten whole or cooked your body can’t absorb as much (Or something like that. Math expert yes, health expert no.). 

 blog-002

 

Do you like my vintage Alpha Phi cup from 2001?  Also, I have noticed lately that I use my blender for health smoothies about 2 times a week but the last time I blended a margarita or pina colada was almost 2 years ago.  I think it’s a sign of age.

 

Speaking of age, Chad had a mild epiphany over the weekend.  He has realized that he needs to eat better for things like heart health, cholesterol and arteries and stuff like that (not just weight).  So he told me yesterday, while I was making my grocery list, to please get him some healthy options.  Ok, like what?  “You know, like ice cream so I can make shakes and maybe go ahead and get some frozen pizzas just in case…oh and bananas so I can make peanut butter and banana sandwiches.”  Hmmm, so it appears that Chad’s version of healthy is my version of totally splurging.  But that’s ok, at least he is aware that the inside counts too, especially at our age!

 

Alright, one last bit of information before I retire for meaningless TV.  Last night I saw a very compelling ad for Mr. Clean Magic Eraser.  It looked so easy, so satisfying and so just what I have been looking for to combat the bane of my existence: soap scum on our glass shower doors.  I bought two kinds, one with Febreeze and one for extra tough stains.  Then I decided that to really test it thoroughly I would need be in the shower.  What could be better – showering and cleaning, if there had been a TV with The Hills playing I might have died and gone to Heaven.  Anyhow, I began the scrubbing process.  Nothing.  Not even any suds.  What the ____!  What kind of crap is this?  After several minutes of relentless scrubbing and evaluation I concluded that: THERE WAS NOTHING MAGICAL ABOUT THIS ERASER except that my $8 magically went down the drain with the 4 suds that were finally produced.  Back to the drawing board.  But let it be known that this consumer is reporting a big fat BOOOOOOOOOOOO for this product:

mr-clean

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 8:33 pm

    I get the Target brand magic erasers- they work really well on our white cabinets… because SOMEONE in our house is a super messy cook (that would be me). I’ve never heard of using them on soap scum, though.

    Nice smoothie!!!

  2. March 11, 2009 12:04 pm

    Hee hee I turned your Uncle on the Green Smoothies, glad he got you to try it. I like Kale & chard in there too, parsley… it’s all good. Mint and ginger are nice additions. Have fun with it! =) @AndreaTannouri the @HolisticMamma =)

Leave a Reply

