Skip to content

Bad Friday

April 13, 2009

Dear City of Decatur,

  I hope this letter finds you in good health and prosperity.  I am sure, actually, that you are quite prosperous at this time given the rash of tickets you issued over the holiday weekend.  I need some help understanding, however, the correlation between the celebration of the resurrection of Christ and the decision to bless every driver on highway 388 with a ticket.  I am sure you have a perfectly good explanation.  Perhaps you are all heartless atheists?  Or maybe the town Easter egg hunt was cancelled and in order to amuse themselves your police department needed to hunt innocent law abiding citizens thinking they were going the speed limit instead?  All I know is that hiding out in the same spot all weekend could only mean that you know that most every driver believes the speed limit to be something that it is not.  Therefore you shamelessly wait for your next victim and then very callously issue them citations with not so much as a HELLO.  I thought small Texas towns were supposed to be friendly?  Maybe I wouldn’t be so insulted if I had at least received a “Hi, how are you today on this blessed GOOD FRIDAY afternoon?”  Instead I got, “License and registration.”  Gee thanks Officer Keith Hilton.

Anyhow, I just want you to know that you have both ruined my driving record, free of a speeding ticket for 13 years (I am an obvious threat to the safety of mankind), and my reputation as a grandma driver that I have held my entire life behind the wheel.

And I hope you had a Happy Freakin Easter!

Sincerely,

 I-Thought-The-Speed-Limit-Was-70 Lemons

P.S. It was just cruel to make me pull over in a spot that gave me a perfect view of the posted 70 speed limit sign not 5 feet ahead of me.  Just mean.

 

So, I guess you know how my weekend started off.  That night we capped off the awesomeness with the worst movie we have seen in a very long time: Knowing with Nicholas Cage.  The acting, the writing, the not so special affects….oh gosh everything was horrid, but laughable all at the same time.  Luckily the popcorn was still good.

Everything after that was mucho bueno!  But I would like to comment on the outrageous police occupation in Corinth, Denton and Decatur.  I drove from Frisco to Sunset twice this weekend (where my sister lives) and both ways there were speed traps galore that backed up traffic and caused a ruckus.  What’s the deal?  Are these three cities hard up for cash?  Meeting quota?  Sadistic police forces that enjoy making young women cry (not that I cried, but I am sure some did)?  Not sure, but Plano, Frisco, Lewisville and Highland Village didn’t feel the need to ruin anyone’s Easter weekend.  Which is why I choose to live in one of the above mentioned cities.  At any rate with the massive amounts of tickets handed out this weekend I am sure there is a support group or something, so if you know of one please let me know.  I need to talk/vent/rage/cuss.

policecar

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    April 14, 2009 9:26 am

    Do you feel better now, sweetheart? It’s always good to talk about these things. Do not let the mean old policeman ruin your day. Maybe your driving record but not your day. Heavens!

  2. April 14, 2009 6:18 pm

    LEADFOOTTTTT!!!!!!

    Sorry about the ticket 😦

Leave a Reply

