Skip to content

Big Mansions

June 26, 2009

It’s not many a Friday that I show up to work in a black dress and heels but today I do so in honor of Amy.  I would say that today is a sad day but I suppose it would be more accurate to say that today is sad for me, and all of us that knew Amy, but joyous for her.  She is already safe and sound enjoying her mansion in Heaven.  And I would wager all my earthly possessions on the fact that she has quite the mansion.

I am afraid my attempt to describer Amy would not do her justice, so instead read a blog my Uncle Tom wrote, I think it’s more than eloquent.  I would, however, like to share a few of my favorite things about her. 

Amy had the purest heart of anyone I have ever met.  You always knew that her intentions were right and she had no hidden agenda.  She carried a light with her at all times that oozed joy – not just happiness but true, God-given joy.  This is how she did everything in her life, the good, the bad, the not fun, the exciting, the arduous, the sad….she handled it with grace and joy.  Amy was a friend to everyone and nothing was too much trouble.  She would give you the shirt off her back and actually she usually did just that.  Amy was always giving.  I myself was on the receiving end of purses, jeans, tops, and makeup but I didn’t consider myself too special because Amy was giving to everyone.  Just like HeatherBakes I remember lunch time trips to the resale store or the mall.  Amy would race us to the retail and race us back in just under an hour, it was amazing.  Most of all Amy’s smile, excitement and love for others are what I will remember most.  For a petite little thing she filled an entire room with her spirit.  We would all be so lucky as to leave a legacy even close to what Amy has left all of us.

Last Friday when Amy passed away, in an effort not to become a blubbering mess at work, I glanced upward and caught sight of my overhead bin where I saw a beautiful rugged looking magnetic cross…that Amy had given me.  So much for holding it together.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2009 4:11 am

    So sorry for your loss, she sounded like a true woman of God. How lucky you were to know her!

  2. June 27, 2009 12:13 pm

    Perfect.

  3. June 29, 2009 1:19 pm

    Friday was hard, wasn’t it? But it was so good to see you- Gina was raving about how cute you looked: “Did you see how Katherine’s lipstick perfectly matched her necklace??” Too funny.

Leave a Reply

