Skip to content

Adventures in eating, cooking but mostly complaining about Gluten Free living.

August 3, 2009

Have I mentioned lately what a pain in the a$$ it is to live gluten free?  If not then let me say it again, it is such a pain in my a$$!  As I have stated before it’s not the lack of bread or fried foods that annoys me.  I am better off without that stuff anyway.  It’s worrying about sauces and secret ingredients with gluten that has me living in fear, going hungry and Googling “Is _____ gluten free?” every single day.  It’s extremely time-consuming and frustrating.  Try asking the wait staff at On The Border if their rice is gluten free “Que….eh, um glooton?”  Or the infant working the counter at Tin Star “Um like, I don’t really know, like what is gluten (while they are secretly wondering when their next smoke break is)?”  What is really bothersome is that some chain restaurants don’t list food allergy information on their sites.  Um, hello, there are some people out there with nut allergies so bad that can’t even fly on airlines that serve peanuts because it gets in the air.  So why, in this highly vigilant allergy time, wouldn’t Jack in the Box have any official information about their food.  I really care not to base my food decisions on open forums where someone says “Yeah, I THINK the fries are ok.”  I need concrete official lists of gluten free food items from the food makers themselves.

What I have discovered is that it’s easy to cook and eat gluten free AT HOME.  I know all the ingredients, can read the labels, can Google before I go to the store and I know, with certainty, that there are no hidden ingredients…unless Chad is sprinkling bits of bread on the chicken without my knowledge (which I highly doubt since that would require thought, planning and time away from Xbox).

So that’s all my complaining for today!

OH wait, not it’s not, I almost forgot.  Yesterday while shopping at Sprouts I asked a very earthy looking employee where the Namanstar pizza crust mix was.  I was met with a confused look and some muted grumblings.  Um, aren’t you people supposed to know all the odd healthy allergy related crap out there?  After a few minutes he smugly says, “Oh you mean Nameste (pronouncing it with a newly acquired English accent).”  Yeah, that’s what I meant please excuse my Texas pronunciation but how many gluten free pizza crust mixes are there?  Once I confirmed he happily announced that they used to carry that brand but not anymore.  Seeing my disappointment he motioned towards a pre-packaged rice crust to which I promptly snubbed 7th grade style with crumpled face and tongue sticking out galore.  So I am going to try yet again a different brand, but this time it’s not rice based like the other one so I hope to have good results (I will let you know tomorrow).

Quick Movie Reviews: 

Funny People with Adam Sandler and Seth Rogan – pretty funny, expectedly inappropriate (how many anatomy jokes can you get into one movie, apparently a lot), too long, oddly touching in some parts, and at least the ending is unexpected. 

The Ugly Truth with Katherine Heigl – bad, really bad, awful writing, ok acting (they did the best with what they had) and more inappropriateness.  Thus giving me yet ANOTHER strike in Chad’s book for picking a lame romantic comedy.  The last one, Maid of Honor, took over a year to live down.  I thought The Proposal was pretty cute but he disagreed.  I can’t even enjoy RCs anymore with Chad because he sits next to me executing one eye roll after another, it’s stressful.

 

P.S. I took off last week from my workout schedule and I feel terrible and guilty.  It’s back on the wagon today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:44 pm

    You must not have read my facebook over a week ago. I said “DON’T Go See the UGLY TRUTH”…
    At least I am not the only one who thought it was disgusting, rude and degrading to all mankind. Thank you for supporting my thoughts. Now, at this point and time you should be worried that we are on the same page…Does that mean you are as crazy as me??????hahaha

  2. Gigi permalink
    August 4, 2009 9:00 pm

    I am laughing at your comments about the waitstaff because YOU know we would have been the same way. Might have said something like…. GAH eat some pink sauce and rolls and leave me alone so I can get out of here and head to Tavern….hehe

  3. Kelli permalink
    August 7, 2009 4:08 am

    Chad actually lets you pick the movie?? I havent seen a chick flick in ages because I have at least 43,672,910 movie strikes against me. Even if the movie was good, I still get a strike for making him watch it 😦

Leave a Reply

