Skip to content

It’s Here

August 17, 2009

What is tall, naturally blonde and red all over?   Oh Yeah, it’s me. 

I spent the day at the lake yesterday and now I am paying the price for an irresponsible use of sunscreen – or lack there of.  I know.  How can I not know better at almost 30 years old.  Some people are slow learners and I have never been good at math, I should know that Me + 4 Hours of Sun – Sunscreen = BAD BURN.  And the best part is that everyone I work with is really observant, “So, did you get some sun?”  or “Looks like you got some sun.”  Hmm, really, I had NO IDEA.

sunburn

This week it’s back on the wagon.  I haven’t been able to work out because I haven’t been home so it’s (exercise) balls to the wall now.  But even with my slacking I have inspired my hubby to start.  After he listened to my radio interview  (it’s at the very bottom) he came downstairs with a plan.  So this weekend he went out and purchased a pull up bar, some hand weights and those Perfect Pushup things.  All of which are now permanently placed around the home in not so secret places.  Who needs a coffee table when you have these in the middle of your floor all day:

 pushup

And really, closing your door is totally overrated, it’s way better to have this in your doorway at all times:

 chinup

I am pretty proud, he has already replaced his pudding cups with fruit cups.  And his Coke consumption has gone down now that he has realized how yummy Propel is.  Go Chad!

So I think it’s time that I go ahead and acknowledge that the time is approaching.  As the weeks pass by and the temperatures go from 104 to 98 I think it’s clear to everyone that football season is upon us.  Sigh.  With preseason games and the new version of Madden football has once again inched its way into my life.  Dang it, how does this happen EVERY YEAR.  Now it’s time for me to put my game face on and start practicing, “No honey, I don’t mind, I will just go knit a sweater while you watch the game.”  “Go ahead and take that call, answer that text, you know I don’t mind as long as it’s for Fantasy Football, after all you are the commissioner.”   “No, wearing your jersey is cool, you don’t look ridiculous, wear it with pride!”  And finally, “I am not laughing, I swear, it’s perfectly understandable why a group of grown men would get so upset over the controversial postings on the message board.”  I need to start my drills soon otherwise all of the above could come off as insincere, and we don’t want that.

On the up side, I will be heading to Washington during Draft Weekend, which was formerly known as Labor Day…it’s a little holiday that Americans have practiced for hundreds of years (at least I think so) but when I met Chad it officially became Draft Day instead.  Whatever.  Anyway, I am visiting my friend Julie and her husband Blake.  They live in Washington right next to Oregon on a BEAUTIFUL piece of land.  I cannot wait.  We are going to hike, wine taste gulp, river raft and just visit.  She said the weather should be cool, as in cool enough for a coat!  Wahoo, I will have to pull mine out and dust it off.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Kelli permalink
    August 18, 2009 12:19 am

    Am I the only one who thinks this Fantasy Football weekend is taken just a little too seriously? That same weekend we are suppose to be closing on our new house and my dear husband is fretting over how he is going to manage moving from one house to the next with a pregnant wife and toddler in tow AND fly to Dallas and back in ONE day for this EVER SO IMPORTANT draft. Geez…what would it hurt to miss one year? (I think we would divorce if I actually suggested that).

Leave a Reply

