Skip to content

Again With The Stripper

August 18, 2009

In my near 30 years on this earth I have come to the conclusion that I may or may not be a tad bit OCD (slight pause while friends and family gasp in disbelief).  I can get hyper-focused on the most minute detail for an indefinite length of time.  Projects are one of my favorite things, they have a beginning and an end a before and an after.  So when sorting through things at my grandmother’s house I was more than happy to take an established  1970s buffet off her hands.  As soon as I knew it was up for grabs I began making my plans.  First I would need to strip it (insert Beavis and Butthead laugh), then sand it, then paint it, then scuff it up a bit, then glaze it and then put new hardware on.  It all sounds easier than it is, especially the stripping part.  My first experience with stripper, ok that’s quite enough people get your mind out of the gutter, was when I refinished our banister.  It took me weeks to recover and for the skin on my hand to grow back.  So this time: Bio Hazard Gloves – the kind my mom used to clean the bathroom with.

Anyhow, Thursday night I stripped, Friday night I sanded and painted and Saturday morning I scuffed and glazed….and last night I finally got around to the hardware.  I proudly present to you before:

 

 buffet 003

 

And After:

 buffet 004

buffet 006

I had visions of brushed nickel hardware but they didn’t have any that would fit the holes from the old hardware so I had to settle for a combo of iron-esk door handles and the old hardware on the drawer (geez how many times can I say hardware).

After I completed the project last night I unloaded all of my newly acquired Waterford crystal, Wedgewood trinkets, silver table accessories that nobody in 2009 would have any use for on a regular basis but that I still like, and an entire set of vintage glassware.  So, if anyone needs me to host a party of 425 just let me know, I am totally prepared….although they may need to filter out to the front lawn because while I may have enough fine dishware to serve them our house might not hold them.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gigi permalink
    August 18, 2009 3:12 pm

    Awesome job Kat!

  2. Beth P. permalink
    August 18, 2009 5:00 pm

    Good job! I may need you to teach me how to do that in the future if we ever get a house! 🙂

  3. Jen F. permalink
    August 19, 2009 1:27 am

    Great job! I have been wanting to by an old dining room set and do a makeover on it! You made it look easy! 🙂

  4. Susan permalink
    August 19, 2009 12:52 pm

    Where is the line and what time do I need to be there? and I assume Heather will be helping with the catering.

    Excellent work, Katherine Louise

Leave a Reply

