Skip to content

Older Men

August 28, 2009

Last night was pretty wild.  I got hit on by older men, enjoyed a gourmet meal and was surrounded by wine and beer.  An evening at a bar?  Nahh.  A local hot spot?  Sort of.  Dinner with my grandparents at the retirement community – DEFINITELY. 

True story – two men tried to pick me up.  One told me to dump my husband and marry him – geez Chad can’t allow me to visit again without his close supervision, it’s just too dangerous.  So is it really bad that I had a lot of fun at the retirement community?  I mean, the food was amazing, everyone was so friendly and heck they had a whole room just to hold walkers while patrons dined on tomato bisque, seared trout and ice cream sundaes (not that I had one…..well maybe…..ok I did, but only because my grandma made me, it’s true).  This one lady walked up to our table and started going on and on about how great Nordstrom is.  It was as if I found my soul mate, only she is an 85 year old Jewish woman.  The crazy thing is I actually knew two people.  What are the odds that I would know anyone in a group of retired, 75-90 year olds?  Truly a wild night.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

Last Saturday I apparently unloaded everything in my purse at Matt and Tawna’s house and then promptly forgot it all.  Among the missing was my camera, gasp, so I haven’t been able to share with you the final, final buffet pics featuring my new artwork.  It’s amazing what you can do with black paint and a white canvas:

 Canvas 001

 

Canvas 002

(Notice the placement of our alarm pad, the bane of my existence – things like smoke detectors and plugs are so ugly yet I suppose necessary.)

 I hope everyone has a great weekend (both of my dedicated readers)!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth P. permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:15 pm

    I’m thinking we should have just skipped the entire home owner phase and gone straight to retirement living. However, the latter is probably shockingly more expensive. 🙂

  2. Beth P. permalink
    August 28, 2009 4:17 pm

    And did you paint those?!?! I hate you.

  3. Cindy Oates permalink
    August 28, 2009 7:29 pm

    As you are standing over my shoulder and asking me if I am going to comment on “how genius” you are? Not so much. But I am impressed by your new format. Just don’t put a line between your blogs anymore. It’s so confusing!

  4. Gigi permalink
    August 28, 2009 8:57 pm

    1) Umm I want to go for dinner one night, that sounds fabulous… both the food and the company! For realz!

    2) Aunt Cindy I will say it, Kat you are a genius. 🙂 Could you learn to sew? I mean I could keep you busy with tons of projects designing some clothes for Phia. Just think about it.

  5. Cindy permalink
    August 29, 2009 1:12 am

    Gigi, please don’t encourage her. You know she so doesn’t need that. But we loves her just the way her are, right?

  6. susan permalink
    August 29, 2009 8:03 pm

    See you have more that two loyal followers. You have at least four.. You are BIG time now. The paintings are fab. did you do, seriously??? I see a career in your future.

  7. Cindy permalink
    August 30, 2009 12:07 pm

    Susan, her career is sitting within earshot of me at the office so she can answer all of my questions easily and often. Please do not give her any ideas that may lead her elsewhere. I needs my whittle niecey!

Leave a Reply

