Skip to content

Emergency Jelly Bellies

September 10, 2009

You know how when you go on a trip you decide it’s time to clean out your purse?  Assuming you are a woman, or not, we don’t judge here so you could very well carry a man bag.  I am always afraid I am going to forget I have a pocket knife, lighter or small hand gun in my side pocket and then subsequently be detained, searched and otherwise traumatized for life.  Besides a good purse clean out is in order at least once a quarter.  But I realized that I carry around a lot of junk I don’t use:

WashingtonTrip 004

  1. A discount card for every retailer in North Texas

  2. A full package of on-the-go floss

  3. 2 sets of earrings, one of which is broken

  4. Change I never use

  5. Empty lotion

  6. An expired car wash coupon

  7. Extra lip gloss and lipstick I never wear

  8. Nail file

  9. Vitamins

Yeah, that’s a bit excessive don’t you think.  No wonder I can never find anything.

Before I left on my trip my hubby surprised me with a beautiful bouquet of flowers:

WashingtonTrip 003

Unfortunately I was only able to enjoy them for a day before I left, now they are gonners and looking quite sad all dead and dying on the table.

So our two year anniversary is coming up!  It seems like just yesterday I was completely freaking out about custom postage stamps and cup cakes.  But I have learned a lot about men and marriage in my mere two years, things like:

  1. It doesn’t matter that the dishwasher is RIGHT THERE, laying a spoon in the sink is still easier (apparently).

  2. Getting flowers for no reason is especially lovely.

  3. Leaving ones clothing scattered about in the bedroom:  OK.  Not deleting Tivo shows and therefore cluttering up the recording list: NOT OK.

  4. “I can’t wait to do yard work!” Can also mean, “I can’t wait to hire someone to mow the lawn….and by the way picking weeds in the flower bed doesn’t count as yard work.”

  5. A great night out means getting middle/middle seats at the movies and coming home early to fawn over the dog.

Picking the right person to spend your life with is pretty danged important.  It’s so much better to share your life with someone….unless that someone is awful then you are totally screwed!  So I am glad I lucked out and got me a good one!

P.S. Among the items pictured above I also found some old Jelly Bellies in the front pocket of my purse, they had a bunch of lint and were pretty gross (don’t judge they were for an emergency situation):

WashingtonTrip 001

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2009 10:46 pm

    Um, is that a little bottle of Poo-pourri I see? We have that in our bathroom, thanks to Gina.

  2. Susan permalink
    September 11, 2009 1:06 pm

    I hear you say you got a good one, BUT do you LOVE him??
    I hear you say he is good to you (but lazy) BUT do you LOVE him??

    Do you love me? Yes, I love you. (song..hint ..rooftop)

Leave a Reply

