Skip to content

Office NO NOs

October 2, 2009

Why not take advantage of my cynical state at the moment to make a list of NO NOs for the office:

  1. When submitting your resume via e-mail make sure the body of the e-mail doesn’t look like this: “i am a freelance a/v guy i am very interested in assisting whom ever for this job opportunity.”  No matter what the position is capitalization and punctuation are still somewhat important.

  2. If you are just going to run into their office afterwards and ask them “did you get my e-mail” don’t send the e-mail, just run into their office.  Annoying.

  3. Unless you have a designated assistant or are the big boss don’t ask a coworker to ask another coworker a question and then report back.  Really annoying.

  4. While it’s super tempting avoid e-mails like this: “Please read below, SEE, I did send this to you and this e-mail proves it, HAHAHA!”  I can’t say I haven’t done this, but it’s childish nonetheless.

  5. Also avoid e-mails like this:  “Please read from the bottom up through 25 e-mail exchanges – let me know if you have any questions, thanks!”  This is HIGHLY annoying and a golden opportunity for miscommunication. This is so annoying that I don’t have words for it.

  6. For the love of God, it is not necessary to “reply all” to companywide e-mails with “thanks.”  As if we don’t all have enough e-mail clutter in our lives, I don’t need your smiley face response clogging up my inbox.

  7. “Are you busy?’  YES, if I am typing vigorously and looking focused then YES I am busy.  If I am lounging in my chair twirling my hair then no, I am not busy but the fact that you have to ask is still annoying.  Pay attention and use common sense.

  8. “I hate to interrupt…”  I know, but you are going to anyway, OBVIOUSLY.

  9. “How was your weekend?”  “Oh good, anyway, could you make 20 copies of this and contact….”  There is no need for polite filler if you really just want to ask me to do stuff.  I am not stupid.

  10. “WE need to…”  No, technically it’s not WE, what you mean is “YOU need to…”  So just start with that, don’t kid yourself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Cindy permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:13 pm

    Guilty! #7 & #8. I will try harder, Mrs. B! From now on, I am just going to stand around the corner from your office and hold my coffee cup up in plain view. If you snicker, I will enter, if there is silence, I will leave. Or, I could just stand around the corner and say “brock”. Again, snicker, I enter. Silence, I leave. Just let me know which you prefer.

  2. Susan permalink
    October 6, 2009 12:56 pm

    Little Miss Priss Pot, You have some stinking thinking going on there!!
    You need a check up from the neck up…….

    There is a BIG one you left out and you know and I know which one it is…but we will leave it at that….

Leave a Reply

