Skip to content

Weapons of Mucus Destruction

April 27, 2010

Well, my Walquil proved to be no match for the mucus within (sorry for the visual).  So Sunday I headed to the doc in the box for some heavy meds.  I checked in on-line hoping to shorten my in-office time.  An hour and a half later they called me in – and another hour later they called me back – and another 45 minutes later I got to see a doctor.  My diagnosis – sore throat and sinusitis.  Genius!  I had no idea my throat was sore or that my sinuses were infected.  So he prescribed me three weapons of mucus destruction – an antibiotic, an inhaler, a shot of cortisone and a lovely cough syrup with codeine.

Challenge number one: find a 24 hour pharmacy, which isn’t as easy as you might think.  Upon accomplishing this challenge I wound up in a CVS.  CVSs in general kind creep me out with their carpet, a store shouldn’t have carpet it seems like a breeding ground for germs.  But I was only interested in their pharmacy…..that is until I realized I had 45 minutes to kill.  So I meandered up and down each aisle – discount Easter candy (yes please), two for one Swedish Fish (ok), shoe pads (who can turn down anything for 50 cents), on-sale eye cream (these wrinkles ain’t gonna leave on their own), headbands and a card.  Yes, all truly important items.  “Lemons, your order is ready.” This was great news considering store security was beginning to eye me as I half hazardly dumped unrelated items into my basket.  “That will be $198.”  Perhaps they didn’t realize I wasn’t filling a prescription for ALL of their available meds or that I just had a sore throat and sinusitis.  How could they even feel right about charging me that much for such a tiny bag (one without a Gucci symbol to be found).  But I kind of think she won’t be losing any sleep on my account.

Challenge number two: don’t pretend to be super woman on day two when I feel significantly better.  I must also keep in the mind that the doctor gave me strict orders to avoid all strenuous exercise and no power lifting, for any reason.  Clearly he could see my muscles through my shirt and feared for my life if I were to continue with my intense workout schedule.  So, I promise to all of you that I will not for any reason engage in any strenuous activities for at least 4 months, just to be safe (though he only cautioned me for 2 weeks I don’t want to take any chances).  Chewy and Chad have also shown their support by swearing off exercise with me.

 

P.S. I was fully prepared for the side effects of my meds which I thought might be a little nausea with a bout or two of dizziness.  What I was not prepared for was the insomnia that occurred last night.  Literally not one single wink was had (by me anyway, Chewy snored away the entire night).

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 27, 2010 1:54 pm

    I still think of you anytime I see Swedish Fish.

    Feel better, Kat!

Leave a Reply

