Skip to content

You Want Me to Do What With My Leg?

May 5, 2010

I thought the hardest part of hot yoga would be the yoga.  I was wrong.  It was the hot part.

When I walked in the room was dark and hot.  My first thought – awesome, now nobody will see as I struggle to touch my chin to my toe.  But alas, the lights came up slowly but surely.  Did I mention it was very hot?  Well it was.

We began with some basics, eased in to some more challenging moves and ended with my heart pounding as I gasped for air.  By the way, all done in front of a large mirrored wall so that you can watch as your face turns bright red, your muscles shake and your clothing gets wetter and wetter.  I mean, who wouldn’t want a front row seat to that.  Me and this larger gentlemen seemed to be on pace with one another though I was thankful the instructor never had to kneel beside to ask if I was OK (AKA, “Are you gonna die right here in the studio because that’s the last thing we need?”).  My biggest fear towards the end was passing out or throwing up.  Nobody wants to be THAT girl.  Luckily I made it through – only to be reminded of why gym locker rooms creep me out.  I get it, we are all women but that doesn’t mean I want to see you butt naked as you prepare to shower.  I guess I will never understand how anyone can feel totally comfortable naked in front of strangers – women or not.  I get a little squeamish around Chewy and I am pretty sure he can only see black and white fuzzy shapes.

Here I am during class - darn photogs always stalking me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jodi permalink
    May 6, 2010 2:34 am

    I.Love.You. This is great!! And perfectly describes how I feel when I go to yoga. Although, I could add that there’s usually a dude in a very inappropriate snug-fitting jockey underwear-thing (instead of a more acceptable pair of board shorts) with sweat dripping off of every partical of his being..in front of a mirror..gag! I hope to make it with you tomorrow. Let me know if you decide to go 🙂 I’m hoping to feel better by then!

  2. Cindy permalink
    May 8, 2010 2:31 pm

    Girrrrrrl!

  3. Beth Potter permalink
    May 11, 2010 2:24 am

    I really did laugh out loud to this!

Leave a Reply

