Skip to content

Dinner With A Married Man – Why Your Grandmother Would Not Approve

May 26, 2010

It is no secret that we live in an age where apparently everything is OK.  There are no limits to what is socially acceptable.  We can say what we want, do what we want and look how we want (case in point, hot pink lycra leggings) and who is anyone else to tell you different.  That’s right, we are an empowered nation bulldozing through life with total confidence.  Except, divorce rates are at an all time high.  Alcohol and drug use persist and now sex is a legitimate addiction too.  But I am sure those are totally unrelated to our “anything goes” mentality.

As politicians use controversial topics to recruit voters and leverage their own agendas it’s the rest of America that suffers through the consequences.  That said, I assure you this article has no political agenda (go Republican), I swear.  I kid.  I kid.  Except about the Republican part. No, no, what I really want to discuss are some of the lost rules of etiquette that use to protect us as a society.  The ones that we tossed to the side claiming that they were outdated and inhibited our natural sense of independence and freedom.  I do not mean the whole white after Labor Day thing, because that is one that should have been tossed out and has no overall social consequences – unless you consider a few more months of seeing panties through unlined white pants a social consequence.

Believe it or not being a female and choosing to be alone in the company of a married man used to be considered risky behavior that proper young ladies did not engage in.  “But that’s so lame, and besides my BFF is of the opposite sex.”  Yeah, um, and I assure you that your BFF’s spouse is none too pleased when you two meet up alone.  The fact is spending time with members of the opposite sex can produce feelings and feelings often breed actions.  Add a few glasses of wine in there and you have a recipe for divorce my friend. 

Back in the old days it was even considered uncouth for a single lady to be invited to a party by a married man, it was necessary to be invited by the lady of the house.  Don’t think that these rules only applied to ladies, men had the same rules.  Everyone had social guidelines to follow, and just think there was STILL infidelity and misconduct.  Listen, I am not saying that everything should return to the way it was – as I am pretty stoked that I don’t have to wear panty hose, a skirt and heels every day.  I do think, however, that we would all be better off if we nixed our sense of entitlement to do whatever the crap we wanted and began to think about how our actions have consequences – for ourselves and others too.  By the way, my grandmother would probably not approve of me using the word “crap” so please strike that from your memory.

If you think I sound antiquated that’s ok.  My husband doesn’t. I think he rather appreciates that I don’t spend quality time with other men; I guess he is strange that way.

Thank you very much.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Just Me permalink
    June 3, 2010 4:06 pm

    Thank you! Long story short Friend=wrong actions…Validating my point. NOW that should scare you..

Leave a Reply

