Skip to content

Dear Nordstrom

June 24, 2010

Dear Nordstrom Swim Department,

 I regret to inform you that while you carry many adorable swim designs and styles I will be unable to purchase any of them. I fear that I am not the only non-visually impaired woman who feels this way.  As it turns out a harsh, bright spotlight that looms directly over the mirror is not quite the best lighting to be half naked in.  Unfortunately, last month, while standing in line for my full body makeover I was denied due to lack of funds.  So you can imagine that having acquired all of the things that come along with being a 30 year old hater of fitness the spotlight situation is none too pleasing.  I do hope that you will consider a change in lighting design for the future.  The perfectly lovely sales assistant looked hungry and sad from lack of sales and I certainly hope that she does not have a family to feed.

I recommend total lack of lighting if you really want the suits to fly off the racks.  Just pitch black.  But if you must have something I suggest that each fitting room have a personalized dimmer that can be turned as low as necessary to make the suit, and the girl, look good.  I believe sales will increase and customer satisfaction will improve.  In the event that a snotty, thin, in-shape, young girl happens to complain about not being able to clearly see her hip bones with the darker lighting – simply inform her that she is welcome to walk out in to the store to get a better look.  I am sure she won’t mind.

 

Sincerely,

30 and hating loving it

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth S. permalink
    June 25, 2010 8:03 pm

    HAHAHA this totally cracks me up! When I was out on the hunt for white jeans I was in their dressing rooms wondering when the craters on the moon had firmly planted themselves on my toosh. Heck swimsuit shopping might have been better at least that way my arse could breath…fabulous:)

    • Katherine permalink*
      June 25, 2010 8:43 pm

      Girl, please you have no moon anything – unless you are actually mooning someone:)

Leave a Reply

